Skip to content

Walking

June 7, 2007

So a friend loaned me a pedometer and I’ve been trying to count my steps, since Gaylen challenged me to 10,000 steps a day. Well, do you know how many miles that is? I won’t bore you with the long drawn out calculation my Quality Assurance mathy-techie friend gave me, but it is approximately five miles a day. Good grief, Charlie Brown!

From my front door to the bus stop is six-tenths of a mile, plus a block. It’s then about five or six city blocks from the bus stop to work in the morning, and three city blocks in the evening. All totalled, I’m at about 2900 steps in the morning, and about 2100 in the afternoon – 5,000!

Geez, I don’t know how I can do 10,000 a day. How can I double that? I really don’t know, seeing as I’m absolutely exhausted in the evenings. Yesterday I was up at 5, left at 6:15 for the bus, and didn’t get home until 7:15 pm. Dinner was ready (thanks to my lovely daughter) so I ate, sat and watched TV for maybe 30 minutes and fell asleep. I was in bed by 8:30.

So here’s the deal. (By the way, in all fairness to Gaylen, she told me on the phone that she didn’t want me stressing out about this and getting to 10,000 if it made me cry or hurt.) Until the doctors figure out the edema stuff, I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing – 5,000 a day, and then add in a nice five mile walk on the weekends to the espresso stand and back (maybe even both weekend days). It’s helping as my new pants are somewhat looser around my hips – but I don’t see any difference at all so far in my edema situation. I’m determined to either prove them right or wrong. Know what I mean?

So, I’ll keep trudging the road of happy destiny. 🙂

6 Comments
  1. gaylen permalink
    June 7, 2007 9:46 am

    Are you wearing your ped all day long? Or only while walking to and from the bus? All the steps from desk to bathroom, to get coffee, while getting lunch add up – use them in your favor if you aren’t. If you are – keep on doing what you’re doing. Again – I don’t want a little friendly challenge to make you cry or cause physical pain. You’re doing great!!!

    g

  2. June 7, 2007 10:19 am

    I’m trying to do the ‘steps’ thing, too. You’re doing better than me, because you remember to wear the pedometer! One of the days I did remember, I figured out that as I sat at my desk and leaned into work, I was resetting the counter! Talk about one step forward, two steps backward!

    Don’t get discouraged. As long as you’re moving forward, you’re making progress.

  3. BjP permalink
    June 7, 2007 5:54 pm

    Wow, I’m impressed! You are putting me to shame and I really MUST start walking! It will get easier every day, of that I am sure. I used to have 2 flights of stairs at work and I was up and down them 8 times a day. We’ve since moved, and I never thought I’d say it, but I miss those stairs!

    You should be very proud of yourself since it’s so very easy to give up something too soon. Yay to you!

  4. June 8, 2007 5:15 pm

    i’ve been tempted to wear a pedometer when i work at school. it is a tenth of a mile from the front door to the back door and walk up and down that hall *alot* when i work. no wonder i am so tired when i get home.

    get comfortable with the five miles a day….which is a ton imho….then look for ways to add in a bit more.

  5. thesecretpocket permalink
    June 11, 2007 4:35 am

    Oh, I was so proud of myself that I walked 2 miles Saturday and Sunday this weekend. And I was trying to remember what you said 10,000 steps was. 5 miles! LOl! Well, I’ll work up to that. It was surprisingly relaxing. Though my heart rate doesn’t increase as it would if I were on the treadmill or elliptical machine, I just can’t keep paying for the gym and not going. And it was nice walking outside, enjoying the weather with my labrador for company. Problem…no way I’m going out there in the winter.

Trackbacks

  1. Gilbert Hodgkinson

Comments are closed.

