Skip to content

Then and Now

June 11, 2007

Sunday was garage purging day. Wow. What a workout.

Here’s the garage before we got started. Argh. What a mess.

I went to Lowes early in the morning and bought two metal shelves. I picked these kind (in the pic below) because they were easy to assemble, and I had one like it already. I’m going for a uniform look. My idea is that when I’m all done, at some point I’ll purchase new painting tarps and use that as fabric to create a drape to cover the shelf contents.

[drumroll please…]

Here’s the after:

The whole row of stuff in the front of the new shelves is either freecycle (a Yahoo group) or trash. There’s some stuff sitting outside still as well that will go to the dump. It’s almost embarassing how much trash we filled up to think that was all sitting in our garage all this time. But like one of my readers commented it’s easy to just toss stuff in there and think, well, I’ll deal with it later. Later sometimes never comes.

2 Comments
  1. June 12, 2007 2:40 am

    good work on the garage!! i am exhausted just looking at the photos. 🙂

  2. thesecretpocket permalink
    June 12, 2007 4:16 am

    Congratulations! It must feel so good! Our entire cellar looks like your garage…and so does our garage (though our garage is old and we can’t put the car in it anyway.)

    I read a funny thing once that only in America do we fill up our garages with junk and leave our $20,000 cars in the driveway exposed to the elements. How true!

Comments are closed.

