Skip to content

I Never Considered Myself “Green”

June 12, 2007

But here I am – recycling away. If you haven’t heard of Freecycle for your unused items, give it a try. (www.freecycle.org) I joined the local Yahoo group for this organization and it’s amazing. I posted late last night some stuff that was in my garage that I wanted rid of – old vacuum cleaner, glider/rocker set, push mower, etc. – and this morning, they are already claimed. I just have to set them outside before I leave for work. They should be gone by the time I get home. Last week, I posted empty kitty litter pails (ten or so of them) that had been sitting outside all winter and by golly, someone came and took them all.

In the past, many of these things would have ended up at the dump (what a waste, no pun intended) or requiring me to load them up and haul them off myself to Goodwill or somewhere like that. I won’t get the tax deduction, but who cares right now? I just want them all gone. And for things like empty flower pots and kitty litter pails, there’s no deduction to be had anyway.

Oh, and not only is this good for getting rid of stuff, I’ve seen people request working sewing machines on here – and get them! My, oh my!

One Comment
  1. June 12, 2007 7:24 am

    You are making great progress, Claire!! It will be so exciting at the end of this bunch of chores to have a “new” beautiful home.

Comments are closed.

