Skip to content

How does the saying go?

June 18, 2007

If you want to make something a habit, do it consistently for six weeks. Something like that. I’ve now been walking and taking the bus for four weeks. Today my daughter and the puppies met me at the drug store and we walked two miles home in just around an hour. Not too bad.

My question is: When does this start to get easier? I would think that after walking an average of six to eight miles a week, soon the walk would not result in dizziness, headache, and fatigue. It’s supposed to make me have more energy, not less. Some good news though is that my physical therapist is noticing that my body is changing. I was happy to hear that Friday because I sure don’t see or feel it.

On a more positive note, we got some sun today. Not warm yet, but sun, and tomorrow is scheduled to be a whopping 70 degrees. I don’t care if it’s not “technically summer yet until June 21” or not; we are way past due for some warm sunny weather. We’ve had about nine months of this grey, wet weather.

At least I don’t have to water all those new flowers!

Now for a funny that made me laugh out loud at work.

http://icanhascheezburger.com/2007/06/17/tryd-to-go-brazilyun/

3 Comments
  1. Jessica permalink
    June 18, 2007 6:17 pm

    Well I have to applaud you. Wow…How do you walk two miles after a long day at work? I would probably be crawling the last 1/4 mile…saying …food…food..I need food and then I would probably go to bed after that! You’re doing well…Keep it up!

  2. thesecretpocket permalink
    June 19, 2007 4:33 am

    It’s too bad you can’t walk with that little dog of yours. I was so happily walking with my lab last week. then she scared us one morning. We think she overdid it…running and fetching at the track in addition to walking. She could barely stand up. Hip arthritis? So now I’m cautious about walking too much with her. It’s a careful balance. She needs to walk, but not too much I guess. I love walking with her, she’s such good company and she really loves it.

    In any case, you’re doing great. Walking is a sort of meditation. When I walk I spend some time just trying to keep good posture and enjoy that. then I spend some time looking at the scenery. Then some time being “rhythmic” like counting steps or listening to my footfalls.

    The dizziness and fatigue doesn’t seem right at this point. did you consult a doctor? Are you hungry when you leave work? Maybe a handful of nuts or some other good snack first?

    I never heard the 6 week thing. Interesting. Does that mean if I could eat better for 6 weeks it’d be a habit? 6 weeks seems so long…..

  3. June 19, 2007 7:00 am

    That kitty picture cracks me up!

    I would say it depends on how much you used to walk before… If you went from almost no walking to at least one mile a day, and given your back problems, yes, I can understand that this may feel really tough, Claire! Kudos to you on sticking to it. I can’t think of many other things better for the human body than walking daily. You’ll be feeling so much better soon, I’m sure. It’s the transition time that’s tough, as with a diet. It’s amazing what the human body will get used to.

    I agree with Dawn, too – walking with a dog makes it easier and more fun! But you walk to and from work, right? Not really possible unless your daughter can meet you with the dogs when you leave from work.

Comments are closed.

