Skip to content

Dogs and Walking

June 19, 2007

A couple of my readers have mentioned walking with my little doggie, Lily. As it turns out, yesterday youngest daughter and all three pups met me at the local drug store and we all walked the two miles home together. (The walk was as good for daughter as it was for me.) Little Lily walked quite a ways with me and is so darling. I’ll have to take pictures with my camera phone. She likes to run ahead of me and all I see is this little body with ears back and tiny feet moving so fast they are almost a blur. Hilarious. I love taking her for walks. When we’re almost home, she knows it and runs so fast she could easily be the fastest Chihuahua in America!

And yes, you are all right – it takes my mind off the walking and it makes the walk more pleasant. I hope my daughter can meet me again today.

However, I’m still concerned about the dizziness and fatigue, combined with the edema in my legs, which with all this walking, is not improving. I went to a doctor recently and he dismissed me – after three minor routine blood tests that I’ve had a million times – and told me to exercise, watch my salt intake, and wear compression stockings. Well, I’m doing the first two, but I refuse to wear compression stockings in public. Call me vain. I don’t care. 🙂 Besides, they don’t help. I had them years ago when this issue first surfaced and there was no change. They are painful, and I’m sorry for people who have to wear them all the time. I truly am.

But there is still something wrong. I try eating before walking. I’ve tried bringing nuts along for protein. I always carry water. I’ve tried candy (small amounts like Starburst) in case it is a blood sugar drop. Nothing seems to make it change. And I’m constantly short of breath. Just the strain of a couple blocks uphill with my backpack (not too heavy, but carries my lunch) puffs me out.

Last night after coming home, I had a light dinner (light = smaller portions of more healthy food) and promptly started falling asleep in my chair. I was in bed by 8:00 and had chills for a good couple hours.

No, something’s not right. I don’t know what it is, but I’m seeing a rheumatologist in early July (first available appointment) and will have her check me for several things, including Lupus (my biological mother had this), heart and lung functions (I want a stress test for my heart and lungs – not just a resting echocardiogram and lung function test – already had that, showed normal.) And my physical therapist suggest she test me for diabetes with a fasting glucose test.

I feel like a whiner, I really do. There are so many people out there with illnesses, like breast or other cancer, that make my problems pale in comparison. But that’s just it. These are my problems, and relative to me, they are restricting my ability to live fully, right now. So, thank you for the support and letting me whine in my little corner of the blogosphere.

{{Hugs to all}}

4 Comments
  1. June 19, 2007 10:33 am

    i hope you find a good doctor who can help you. you are right….something is going on. you know your body and you know when it is not right. hopefully it is something relatively minor and a good doc will get you fixed up in no time.

    ps….would love to see video of lily’s little feet scurrying along.

  2. June 19, 2007 11:30 am

    Claire, my friend, you are not a whiner.
    I am concerned about you, and I do hope you can do those tests. You’ll be in my thoughts. (((hugs)))

  3. thesecretpocket permalink
    June 19, 2007 4:09 pm

    A stress test sounds like it makes good sense. There is nothing wrong with persisting when you know something is wrong. (I can’t help but wonder, if you were a man, if they’d have given you that stress test already?)

    Don’t feel bad for doing what you know is right for yourself. After all, it’s not just for you (thought that would be enough) but those that love you and need you!

  4. Gaylen permalink
    June 19, 2007 6:37 pm

    Hopefully the new doctor will actually listen to! It certainly doesn’t sound like things that can be solved by increasing activity, watching your salt and other dietary intake! Doctors – I dislike them immensely – especially when they don’t listen!!!! Take care my friend, and by the way, you aren’t whining, you are being assertive – g

Comments are closed.

