Skip to content

Huff and Puff

June 20, 2007

I now know that I need to leave the house five minutes earlier to catch my favorite bus. What? You have a “favorite bus“? Yup, well I do now.

This morning was a lovely morning. Crisp cool air (not too cool), sun shining (YAY), and the birds chirping in the trees as I walked up the hill to the bus stop. Actually, there are two hills on my way to the stop. The first one is directly at the end of my short street and goes for about one or two tenths of a mile. I’d estimate the incline to be about 20%.  Then there’s about another three tenths of a mile on fairly level ground. At that stop light, I cross the four-lane road and up another block and a half of a steep hill to the bus stop. (The neighborhood has a waterfall at the entrance, if that gives you a clue of the height of the hill.)

This morning, I was a tad late. Just as I crossed the road and started up the hill here comes the bus. But this lady bus driver rocks. She waited for me. It’s the first stop on her route, and there was no one else at the stop. Boy, I really didn’t think I was going to make it. I pushed myself harder than I have in a long time and huffed and puffed all the way up. I almost thought my chest was going to seize (it wasn’t, and didn’t.) I could barely climb up the steps on to the bus when I got there.

But I made it. And that’s the point. I did it.

While resting on the bus, I noticed some lovely fashions. Sometimes I wish I could take pictures for inspiration but I’d probably be accused of voyeurism. There are some ladies and young women that dress in style, look comfortable, and fashionable. I saw a Duro-esque black knit top with a coppery bronze satiny trim that I want to copy. At the risk of staring, I kept looking closer from behind my sunglasses to see if the front panel where the V hits on the chest was a camisole or a panel inset. She wore a camisole. I would make it with an inset, rather than the bulk of a camisole underneath. But that’s just personal preference. And the coppery bronze satiny trim came around and tied in a sweet bow at the back. Very nicely done.

It’s inspiring. I look at these ladies and oddly enough it is what keeps me motivated to keep walking and working on nutrition. I want to have slimmer legs (they’ll never be long and lanky, I’m not built that way) but they can be trimmer. I’m determined to change my shape and shave off some of the extra curves I’ve carried around for too long. My goal is that by the time I turn 50 (some few years off still), I want to be trim and healthy again like I was when I was 35. Other women have done it, so I see no reason I can’t do it.

At least I’m taking the first steps. Pun intended.

Happy Wednesday everyone.

(Oh, and today is my sister Catherine’s birthday. Happy Birthday, sis, if you are reading this.)

4 Comments
  1. June 20, 2007 10:41 am

    you *can* do it and you will do it. you are not expecting a miracle diet to change your shape overnight. you realize that it takes hard work each and every day. walking every day is huge. before you know, you will laugh at those hills as you get stronger and build your endurance.

    how sweet of the bus driver to wait for you!

    teri

  2. June 20, 2007 12:20 pm

    Way to go, Claire! no pun intended 😉 Congratulations.

    Those small acts of kindness from a stranger really do make the sun shine brighter, don’t they?

    Happy birthday to your sister Catherine. Another common point between us – my older sister, the one who has a baby, is named Catherine. 🙂

  3. BjP permalink
    June 20, 2007 5:19 pm

    Just wanted you to know, Claire, that because of YOU, I have started walking across the campus and back on a daily basis to get the mail. It’s not that far, but it’s far enough right now. The first few days I thought my back and hips were gonna give out but it’s getting easier. I sure am not walking as much as you are, but it’s a start. Soon I’ll attempt the track at lunchtime for several laps. A cushy surface is a good thing!

    I think you are doing great and you’ve given me the incentive to actually walk instead of just saying I should! 🙂

  4. June 20, 2007 7:17 pm

    Ladies, thank you so much. Knowing there is support keeps me motivated. And Bev, your words made me cry in a good way. Thank you so much. Keep me posted on YOUR progress!

Comments are closed.

