Skip to content

New Day, New Attitude

June 22, 2007

My instant messenger caption reads “Attitude is Everything”. This is pretty much my mantra about life. Goes back to the old adage that a glass is either half full or half empty. Well, today my glass is half full. That’s due to ridding myself of some stress yesterday and getting a better night’s sleep.

This morning I decided to be brave and measure my waist. Conservatively speaking, I’ve lost TWO INCHES off my waist! (Really, more like two and a half, but hey.)

WOOHOOO! Can you see me walking taller and feeling more svelte? And I’m not going to try to discount it by saying oh, it must be water loss from “that time of month” or anything like that. I’m just going to enjoy it and use it for motivation.

I’m even more determined now, regardless of what the scales say. (But, uh, I drove to work today just in case I need to leave early to go to these tests. I’ve vowed that this weekend I will walk the five miles round trip to the espresso stand!)

Gaylen, I’ll take you up on your offer for help. Expect a phone call from me later. Thank you so much.

Back to work! Happy Friday!

5 Comments
  1. June 22, 2007 8:12 am

    attitude *is* everything. don’t look at the scale….they lie. seriously, muscle weighs more than fat. even tape measures can be misleading because, as you tone up, things will shift around. look in the mirror and how your clothes fit. most importantly…how do *you* feel on the inside? more spring in the step? a better outlook?

    i hope this new dr can help you get to the bottom of all this. frustrating when they shrug and say “dunno.”

    don’t be shy about asking for help with the floor stuff. good friends are happy to help. it makes them feel good, useful, and important. you are giving them a gift. 🙂 seriously, when i see a friend struggling, i makes me feel good to be able to help. if i lived a wee bit closer, i would be right there ready to move boxes.

    teri

  2. thesecretpocket permalink
    June 22, 2007 9:41 am

    Congratulations! Unfortunately, since I’ve started walking, shortly after you, I’ve gained 3 pounds! I’m so frustrated over it that I could scream. hear that?

  3. BjP permalink
    June 22, 2007 9:54 am

    I thought all last night and this morning about what to say to you regarding your last post. It made me sad. I know how much you want to get to the bottom of your medical issues, so yay to getting the doc’s attention! I don’t care how you did it, the fact is that you asserted yourself and made your point. Only you know what’s “right” with your body and nurses/receptionists/etc be damned.

    So today you have a perkier attitude and that’s another yay! Just by admitting you need help is a big step when you are used to being independent! I have the same problem – good at listening and comforting everyone else, chipping in to help, and then not asking them to do the same for me. It’s a curse, I tell ya. “mermaids” was so very correct when she commented that good friends want to help. They really do! Remember that friendship is a two-way street and you have to give them the chance to be just that: a friend!

    I’m still walking and it was 95 yesterday. Blech. But I just mustered on because I know it is important.

    Have a great weekend, my dear! Things are looking up!

    Bev

  4. Jessica permalink
    June 22, 2007 1:16 pm

    Yea Claire!!! and Gaylen…isn’t she the best ever???? You are so lucky that you live near her. :o(
    Good for you Claire….keep on plugging!
    ~Jessica

  5. June 23, 2007 12:42 pm

    Congratulations Claire!! Woohoo!

Comments are closed.

