Skip to content

One Part Rain, Two Parts Cold

June 24, 2007

img_1094_sm.jpg

Look closely at the top of the umbrella. That’s hail, and those streaks flying off the edge of the patio umbrella are hail and rain combined.

Now, rain I expect. Hail in June I do not. The hail came down so hard it bounced up off the sidewalk onto the welcome mat that is under the porch.

img_1100_sm.jpg

Now we have some serious thunder going on too. My, oh my.

~~Pause for some SERIOUS lightening strikes ~~

I jumped out of my seat – literally – and screamed. It sounded like someone shot a shotgun in my back yard (like I know what that even sounds like) but I swear that the lightening came right into the ravine behind my house. It was so close that it was almost simultaneous with the thunder – and LOUD.

Geez. My heart is still pounding. Plus, now I’m deaf.

If it weren’t for my family here, I’d move tomorrow to Arizona.

2 Comments
  1. BjP permalink
    June 25, 2007 4:27 am

    The weather map in our newspaper this morning had only TWO tiny spots of the whole USA that were NOT coded red (for hot): most of Montana, and TA DA!… Seattle!

    I love a good t’storm once in awhile to clear out the air…well, as long as the Wicked Witch doesn’t fly by… but the ones with hail worry me a bit.

  2. Jessica permalink
    June 25, 2007 4:38 am

    Don’t you just hate it when people say “well, if it weren’t for all the rain, it wouldn’t be so green in Seattle…..”
    Stay dry….

Comments are closed.

