Skip to content

On the Bench

June 27, 2007

When you can’t sew, what do you do? I like to still look at sewing stuff, read my favorite sewing blogs, and learn by reading.

I like to think ahead – sometimes. So, I have plenty of fabric, that’s for sure, so I’m not shopping for any more right now. I was looking at styles and patterns and thinking about some fresh new styles to sew up when everything around the house gets done and put away. It may be time for fall fashions by then, but around here, since summer hasn’t started, I can probably get away with sewing up some fun summer stuff still.

What do you do when you can’t sew?

8 Comments
  1. June 27, 2007 10:49 pm

    I do some of the same things as you. I read and read and read! I enjoy my Japanese pattern books and magazines a lot, and never tire of looking through them. I even like to read the instructions/diagrams for things that I don’t plan on necessarily making, because the techniques look like something I want to try/know how to do on another garment. 🙂

  2. June 28, 2007 1:06 am

    I do a lot like you, looking at new patterns and styles 🙂

    It is precisely when I’m most busy with work that I tend to shop for patterns and fabric. I am so frustrated at not being able to sew, that dreaming about and planning my next projects help alleviate the frustration somehow. Then, when I finally do have a free weekend, I’ve got everything at hand to start that (those) new project(s).

    Hang in there, Claire, when you can finally go back to your sewing machine, you’ll be sewing up a storm 🙂

  3. June 28, 2007 2:52 am

    I will knit and wait on my sewing mojo!! Hang in there!

  4. June 28, 2007 5:18 am

    I think I do the same as you – read sewing blogs, books & magazine and do lots of mental planning (honestly, that’s my favorite part)!

  5. thesecretpocket permalink
    June 28, 2007 7:03 am

    Me too… I read, sewing and non-sewing. Knit, sometimes. Or do the “behind the seams” part of “sewing” like cutting tissue patterns and altering them.

  6. June 28, 2007 8:15 am

    I do the same things, too! I get so much inspiration from other blogs and the fashion sites, and love to search the web for new patterns.

    Ebay is a great time suck for fabric, I’ve found. Wool for less than $5.00 a yard? Antique 100% silk saris for jacket linings? Lemme have some of that! I have to add that I don’t have much stash, and almost every piece is earmarked for a project…Mostly 😉

    If I have only a bit of time, I’ll cut something out, or iron the fabric for the next project. Sigh. I have about 10 items cut out at this moment…

  7. June 28, 2007 8:24 am

    Usually, I will flip through a fashion magazine and construct something I like in my mind! I know… it’s an illness! LOL

  8. June 30, 2007 1:04 pm

    I try really hard not to let that happen! *LOL* But if it does I cry and wail, pout and scream until my mojo comes back! I just can’t imagine not sewing!

Comments are closed.

