Skip to content

The Half of It

July 3, 2007

Well, really 54 boxes of it. There’s another 55 boxes to be delivered later.

img_1146_sm.jpg

These arrived yesterday along with the tile and grout for the kitchen. (The small boxes in the background are the kitchen tile.) I cropped off most of the photo that shows the horribly ruined carpet. It’s too embarassing, but you can see a bit of it here. Now you know why the carpet has to go.

The floor is acclimating to the house and I’ll schedule installation for next week sometime. Oh, we’re starting with the upstairs first. The downstairs will be later. Meanwhile, I will probably spend this weekend painting baseboards and painting primer in the bedrooms. All three bedrooms need to be¬†repainted and have bright colors on them (my doing, no one else’s.) I’m going more towards the softer colors, particularly I want that pretty sea-gray-green blue that’s so popular for my bedroom. I read where you should choose the bedding first, then match the paint color to it. Plus, I want to test the color on the walls once the floors are in so that I don’t choose too dark a shade, since the flooring is dark.

I have an antique bedroom set – well, mens bureau and woman’s vanity with mirror – that I finally decided to get rid of. I inherited it, and liked it when I was younger, but I’m so over the antique phase. I want a new dresser – just one – and a new bedframe. In time, but that’s my goal. Plus, I decided that I’m done with the pattern for my bedroom that I’ve had for so long. I’ll be selling the fabric I bought to make curtains and sheers, and then never got around to sewing them. It’s a pretty Croscill purple rose pattern. When I get time, I’ll measure how much I have, but it’s a lot. If you’re interested in it, let me know. I think this time, I’ll just buy a premade set, seeing as I just don’t have the time to sew it all up, although I could. Sometimes you just have to set priorities and make choices. At least I do. I *can* do everything, but do I want to? And do I have the time to?

~~~~~~~******~~~~~~~~

Gaylen called today concerned because she hadn’t heard from me since my test yesterday. I’m okay. My heart is just fine, although my endurance level is very low from where it should be for my age. I’m glad there is nothing wrong with my heart. That’s a problem I don’t wish on myself or anyone. My computer has also still been acting up – overheating and frying the powercord, I think – so I’ve not had computer access. I may need to get a new computer.

Anyway, I have a couple more medical avenues to check out. One is with a rheumatologist on Friday, and the other (still to be scheduled) is with my doctor who handles the “girl” stuff. After that, I’ll ask for a referral to a nutritionist as I’m still determined to change my body. The only common diagnosis the doctors are speculating about is that I have insufficient veins – that is, that the veins aren’t strong enough to pump the fluid back up where it should be, so it settles around my ankles. So, I may have to accept the fact that diuretics and compression stockings may be part of my future. How unsexy is that?? More on that later.

But for now, I’m healthy heart-wise, and that is a very, very good thing.

2 Comments
  1. BjP permalink
    July 3, 2007 9:11 pm

    So glad to hear that your heart is a-ok! I was getting a tad worried.

    You are really getting close to having your flooring installed…..bet you are excited! Can’t wait to see the beautiful results!

  2. July 4, 2007 7:16 am

    Since we never actually talked yesterday. I’m very glad to see a blog update and know that your heart is okay. Hopefully Friday’s doc may have something new to offer. My suggestion for today may be to have a little bit of fun mixed in with a little bit of responsibility. Have a great (and safe) 4th. g

Comments are closed.

