Skip to content

Finally…Someone Cares

July 6, 2007

So, if you’ve been following my tiresome whines about my health, I have an update for you. Today I finally got in to see a rheumatologist. She was recommended to me by my physical therapist (who knows ALL the good docs around) and I was not disappointed. This doc took her time with me. She was extremely personable and truly cared. She was very thorough and, for once, did not discount my complaints as a weight-management issue.

Fibromyalgia.

This is her preliminary diagonsis. There are really two things going on. There’s the overall body aches and accompanying complaints, and then there’s the edema in the feet. The overall aching and stuff completely matches the fibromyalgia. She will decide on a treatment plan for it after some tests come back in.

She did blood tests to check for Lupus and for Ankylosing Spondylitis. She also did a full panel of pelvic x-rays and a right ankle x-ray. (I fell down some stairs several years ago and badly hurt my right ankle. She thinks that may have something to do with the edema and swelling.)

But overall, I’m relieved that someone listened, and someone is taking my complaints seriously. There’s light at the end of the tunnel spelled r.e.l.i.e.f

7 Comments
  1. Sue permalink
    July 6, 2007 5:55 pm

    I am so happy you have found a doctor who listens and cares. My daughter has been having very similar health issues, with similar frustrating results. It wonderful to realize there are some doctors who realize that patients do have brains, are self-aware, and are NOT whining. My heart and all good thoughts are with you.

  2. Gaylen permalink
    July 6, 2007 6:38 pm

    Yea! Light at the end. I’m glad you had a good day and the doc actually listened. :} g

  3. July 6, 2007 6:44 pm

    I’m also glad to hear that you finally found a doctor who listened to you. Both my mother and a sister have fibromyalgia and I remember it took a long time before any doctor would take them seriously. Sounds hopeful that you’ll finally find some relief. Take care.

  4. thesecretpocket permalink
    July 7, 2007 5:38 am

    Oh, finally! I’m so, so glad for you that you’ve found this doctor. Is she the first woman you’ve seen? I go to a woman doctor whenever possible.

    Be well….

  5. July 7, 2007 11:43 am

    So glad you finally have the beginning of some answers! As you said Claire, what a relief to finally feel like you have a doctor that can see the big picture and seems to know how to treat the conditions. I am happy for you. I just read your post about the house and looked at the photos. I really like the photo of the book case, books, and doll arrangements you have there. Nice!

  6. July 8, 2007 6:26 am

    Claire ~ I am glad that you have finally received a diagnosis! I have been reading and not commenting but you are in my thoughts and prayers.

  7. July 8, 2007 7:45 am

    just being able to give it a name can make such a difference. when we discovered my son’s vision impairment, it was a real “aha!” moment for us. it can’t be fixed, but it explained so much. knowing the cause of his difficulties has made them easier to deal with.

    hope she finds some relief for you!

    teri

Comments are closed.

