Skip to content

Banishing the Blues

July 7, 2007

And Purples.

Paint color, that is. This is what I did this afternoon after goofing off and resting alot.

First I started by patching some lovely holes in the walls.

bedroom1_b4_6_sm.jpg

Ya, these holes are about the size of a pea – not a petite pea either. Funny how I didn’t make the holes, but I’m filling them.

Here’s the first bedroom before the primer:

bedroom1_b4_sm.jpg

Why I ever agreed to these colors, I don’t know. Actually, I do know. My youngest daughter was going in for her gastric bypass in 2001 and this was her bedroom. Prior to painting it, it was your standard builder’s flat white paint. I wanted her to have a nice room (of her choice) to come home to since she would be out of commission for several days. These were the colors she chose. I don’t recall the color of the blue, but I remember they were Nickelodeon colors and the purple was called Purple Flurp. I just love saying that. Makes me laugh.

But I’m not laughing now that I have to repaint it!

Here’s the primer on the walls.

bedroom1_b4_1_sm.jpg

I got tired and didn’t get it all cut in before I quit for the evening. I may go back later tonight and do some more – we’ll see.

But I did get all the baseboard pulled up, and lifted up the carpet out of the closet to see what it was like underneath.

bedroom1_b4_5_sm.jpg

I was thinking I’d pull everything up myself and save about $400, but I’m not sure about pulling up that tack strip. I may leave that to the professionals.

This room, when done, will be my office and scrapbooking room. I have an idea of the color I want in there, but I think it’s a good idea to test out some samples once the floors are in. And I’m going to hire a young kid to do the ceilings. I can’t do it all myself.

And Miss Lily tells us what she thinks about all this.

img_1194_sm.jpg

2 Comments
  1. July 7, 2007 8:34 pm

    Oh, do the tack strips!! They come up easily. Put on some leather gloves, grab a hammer and a pry bar and you’ll be done in no time.

    Love the tongue!! Chili does that too. Poochies make such adorable faces.

  2. BjP permalink
    July 8, 2007 6:50 am

    I second what Debbie said….the key here is using gloves! And throw the strips into a deep box or garbage can rather than just into a garbage bag. Those tacks have a way of poking through a bag and sticking you good!

Comments are closed.

