Skip to content

Would You Expect Anything Less?

July 14, 2007

Than a fluffy, pink bed for these two princess puppies?

img_1253_sm.jpg

Actually, they love it, but so does Merlin, our only boy cat (and only boy pet.) Methinks maybe this house needs a tad more testosterone somehow. [grin] I’ll get working on that right away.

Anyhoo…

Today is a day for birth days. (Deliberately spelled as two words). Today my granddaughter Elise was born six years ago. I wasn’t there for that special day, but I’ve been around to celebrate every anniversary since she was two. We are going to a local state park by the lake and celebrating the day there with sunshine, cake, balloons, friends and family. The weather couldn’t be much better – at least for me. Low 80’s, very soft gentle breeze. Perfect.

Today is also another birth celebration. My good friend, April, just had her second son this morning at 8:02 am by c-section. Little Grady weighed in at 7 lbs and 8 oz – a happy, healthy boy. Mom, Dad, and big brother are all doing great. I’m excited for her as she had a hard time getting pregnant both times and they dearly wanted children. They will be – and already are – great parents.

After today’s birthday celebration I will be coming home to continue tearing out the carpet – and at Debbie and others’ encouragement – will be pulling up the tack strips myself as well. I bought some good heavy duty leather gloves and a dust mask. Why a dust mask? Because, believe it or not, I’m actually allergic to cats although we have four, but even more allergic to dust and dust mites. Having hardwoods will help my allergies immensely. (Say, I wonder if I can deduct it from my taxes as a medical expense? Kidding! Sorta.)

Then I have to run to Sears or somewhere and pick up a couple cheap sawhorses so I can get all the baseboard painted for when they install it Tuesday – or whenever. Just need to be prepared.

Hope everyone has a great Saturday sewing, sleeping, sailing – whatever it is that makes you happy.

One Comment
  1. July 14, 2007 2:54 pm

    oh my! i *love* that bed! do you think there is room for me to curl up with them?

    hardwood floors….you will be amazed at the difference it will make with allergies. sometimes i get frustrated with the constant dust bunnies everywhere. however, with carpet, those dust bunnies would just get mushed into the carpet. at least now i can see them and sweep them up…or get the boys to sweep them up. 😉

    can’t wait to see the finished project!

    teri

Comments are closed.

