Skip to content

Ready, Set…

July 15, 2007

Here’s all the carpet, carpet pad, and baseboards from the entire upstairs of my home.

img_1357_sm.jpg

Amazingly, we got this all done in one day. Of course, I called in some help. My daughter called up a couple young guy friends of hers and for a few bucks each, they hauled down the miscellaneous stuff still left in the bedrooms. Then I got busy pulling up baseboards, carpet, and pads. One of the guys stayed on late and helped carry all the carpet stuff down to this pile, and even helped pull up some of the carpets.

It’s amazing the stuff found under the pad. The builders didn’t even bother sweeping up the wire clippings from phone jack installs and other debris before they stapled down the carpet pads and laid the carpet.

And my readers were right – pulling up the tackboard was easy. In fact, that was probably the easiest part. The staples left from the carpet pad was the worst.

So, tomorrow morning at 8:00 (or thereabouts) the installers arrive to lay the beautiful hardwoods. At some point, I’ll have to run out and buy something to protect the floors from the bed frames and such, but I am oooooh, so excited!

Every room will get a fresh coat of paint. Unfortunately, I won’t have time to do it all before the floors go in, so I’ll have to very carefully cover things. Besides, I want to make sure the colors look good with the flooring. And, I want new beddings so I need to pick the fabric first, and then the wall colors. It will still be a while before it’s all done to my perfectionistic standards.

Here’s how the rooms look now.

Remember my sewing room? This is what is left of it.

img_1358_sm.jpg

This used to be my granddaughter’s room when they lived with me when my grandson was born. I did all that painting myself. The smallest of all the bedrooms, it’s still going to be a guest room, but the color will be more gender neutral, and not juvenile – something for both for grandkids and adults.

img_1361_sm.jpg

This will be my daughter’s room for the next year or so while she finishes school, but I’m not going to repaint it when she leaves, so it gets a nice neutral color now that satisfies her, but that also will work for my office and scrapbook room when she moves out.

img_1362_sm.jpg

Even my closet is going to get new flooring.

img_1364_sm.jpg

And now I’m off to ice my poor back. As hard as I worked, I forgot to exercise my back muscles just so, bent wrong, and lifted wrong, and now I’m paying for it.

More tomorrow!

2 Comments
  1. July 16, 2007 4:41 am

    I have done this before and it is back breaking work. And I sneezed and sniffled the entire time! But what a big job done. It gets better from here, right? good for you!

  2. July 16, 2007 8:12 am

    Wow, Claire, this is so much work! 😮 Kudos! 🙂

Comments are closed.

