Skip to content

If you squint a little

July 17, 2007

My dad used to always have a funny saying when a project was incomplete: If you squint a little and tilt your head just so, you can see what it’s going to look like.

So, I’m asking you to squint a little.

Here’s the sewing room floor all installed. Yummy. This is going to be my haven, my retreat from the stressors of the world, my cauldron of creativity.

img_1369_1_sm.jpg

And the hallway going into the sewing room. (By the way, I bought a baby gate as this room will be forbidden to little furry puppies unless I’m in there to supervise.)

img_1381_sm.jpg

Below is a swatch of the fabric I chose from Hancock’s last year sometime. I think the picture shows the colors fairly well, although in “real life” they are a tad richer than the photo suggests. The darker color in the paisley is a rich chocolate brown. The green is a pea soup green and the pink is, well, pink.

img_1382_sm.jpg

You can see the paint color I have circled. It matches the green in the fabric as if it was made for it. That color will go on the wall where the window is, and on the long wall to the left of the window, as you look into the room. The long wall is also the first wall you see when you come up the stairs.

When I was in Seaside, Oregon in April, I bought these two wall hangings from the Montero Sisters going-out-of-business sale. They are currently black, and I will be painting them a matching chocolate brown. Behind them, I’ll be placing some bright coordinating fabric for decoration. They will hang on the long wall that I’m painting the green color.

And, finally, in the center of the room, I’ll be placing this perfectly matched area rug. A great place for my kitties and puppies to curl up while I’m sewing.

img_1386_sm.jpg

So, squint a little and you’ll see my dream come true.

(PS – I posted in the comments on about the pine table. If it was a ratty table, I’d definitely paint it, but it’s an antique, and nicely finished. Plus, it belongs to my mom. We think we might be able to get a decent price for it if we sell it, since it is a rare version of a Brandt classic. All my searches show the table coming up in mahogony, but this is a limited edition pine.)

6 Comments
  1. Julie permalink
    July 17, 2007 9:12 am

    I can picture your room perfectly in my mind! It will be a lovely haven for you to create some wonderful things.

  2. July 17, 2007 9:48 am

    it will be gorgeous! you deserve a beautiful place to create beautiful things.

    teri

  3. July 17, 2007 10:21 am

    Wow, you’re a decorator! I’ve never done much more than beige walls…I’m just no good at it. The floor is gorgeous, I love the rich colors. And the brown, green, and pink are going to be perfect. Rich, and also refreshing. Natural but not boring. Can’t wait to see it all together!

  4. July 17, 2007 1:09 pm

    Gorgeous space – absolutely wonderful floors. It’ll be so nice when it’s done, you’ll never want to come away.

  5. Bev (BjP) permalink
    July 18, 2007 6:37 am

    Oh, my! How wonderful this all looks so far!

  6. July 20, 2007 5:52 pm

    I bought a table similar to that about a month ago, but I am pretty sure mine is mahogany. Yours looks like it is wonderful shape!

Comments are closed.

