Skip to content

Weekend Work Zone

July 21, 2007

(Stealing blatantly from the HGTV tagline.)

This week has been, well, tiring. After the first couple days of excitement around my floors (yes, I still love them) I had to go back to work. That day it rained. Everyone in Seattle forgot how to drive in the rain and the commute took me an hour and a half each way. This ended up throwing my back health into a tailspin and I took the next day to work from home and rest up (ice packs, elevated feet) and I’m still not 100% back to where I was.

That said, I have a zillion projects on the horizon that I want to get done. I need to get the bedrooms painted and the baseboards, so that we can finish up the upstairs and get all the furniture back in place. I need to sort out from the garage what needs to be sold, and then sell it. I need to clean up and clear out the downstairs to get ready to pull out the carpet and old hardwoods (maple from when the house was built.) The next phase of materials are scheduled to be delivered next Friday.

 A friend of mine asked me yesterday how old my house was. Um. Only six years old. It seems funny that I’m doing so much to remodel it when it’s relatively new. He speculated that it was the cheap materials the builders used, and that may be partially true. This builder used less expensive materials, but mostly in hardware and fixtures, as a way to keep the purchase price down. I didn’t have to pay tens of thousands in upgrades. But I did “upgrade” the carpet. Where the damage occurred was in having kids moving in and out, more than your average number of pets, and one particularly horrendous Halloween party I allowed my then 21 year old daughter to have. Consider that a lesson learned.

First up, I will be painting my daughter’s bedroom, removing the border from the second bedroom, and priming mine. If I can get all that done this weekend, I’m doing great. I’ll let you know.

(And, by the way, in case you thought this had turned into a redecorating blog, it hasn’t. I still dream and think about sewing all the time. In fact, I have several projects going in my head to sew curtains and bedding because I can’t find what I want premade. I’m DYING to get my sewing machine out of the garage. I might just stick it on that pine table for the time being and do something with it – anything! Maybe I’ll feel better if I can stitch up some curtains for my daughter’s room this weekend. I already have the fabric!)

Hope you all are enjoying the weekend and doing what it is you love to do!

2 Comments
  1. July 21, 2007 2:16 pm

    Hey Claire … don’t overdo it!! Your back is already sending up SOS signals. 😉 But that said, the chaos will eventually end and you’ll have such nice floors and rooms surrounding you to make you happy. Hang in there! I’ve said it before, I wish I was there to lend a hand and some moral support!

  2. July 21, 2007 4:15 pm

    Thanks, Debbie! I guess you know me pretty well now. I do tend to ignore the SOS signals.

    As it turned out, my youngest daughter painted the entire room! All that is left for me to do is cut in the corners and paint the doors. The previous colors were so dark that even with a coat of primer it’s taking two coats to get nice even coverage.

    Wait till you see the finished result. It’s dreamy. 🙂

Comments are closed.

