Skip to content

When Failing is a Good Thing

July 24, 2007

When it comes to certain health tests.

Today I got my results from the tests my rheumatologist performed three weeks ago. Negative for lupus, spondylitis, and any other rheumatologic disorder. Yay!

However, I do have fibromyalgia. (There’s no test for that though.)  That can be managed.

There are some other things she did find as well. The most surprising to me was a significant vitamin D deficiency. I’m close to having no vitamin D in me (of course that’s probably not even possible, but my score is far below the minimum.) This is not a horrible thing. I have to take 1,000 mg a day and be rechecked in a couple months.

I didn’t know that a vitamin D deficiency can cause muscle aches and joint pain. I have more research to do, but it’s nothing serious.

They also found a benign cyst on my right femur (up near the hip), which is absolutely nothing to worry about, the doctor said. She said it in such a way that I think she was trying to politely tell me this is common as women age. My physical therapist said this could also be the cause of some of my hip pain.

Lastly, with my ankle, she found that I have something where two bones that should be together are too far apart. Likely a direct result of a serious fall down some stairs about ten years ago where I badly sprained my ankle. So, she has referred me to a foot surgeon who will take an MRI and determine what to do. Possibly I may need some sort of pin in my ankle, otherwise, my ankle bones may degenerate too prematurely.

Still no cause for the edema. But my personal theory is that it is a symptom of many things, not one. Once the vitamins get where they should be and my ankle gets fixed, then I’ll feel better about exercising and walking and dieting and it may just resolve itself. And that’s okay by me.

At least it’s definitely not all in my head, the muscle aches and joint pains are real. Life could definitely be worse. I’m happy today.

7 Comments
  1. BjP permalink
    July 24, 2007 8:03 pm

    Glad to hear about the good test results!

    I know you’ll find all this Vit D info, but I just did a quick Google and found this on the Postgraduate Study site about Vit D Deficiency. http://postgradmed.com/issues/2006/06/025/

    “Although only short exposures to adequate sunlight are sufficient to maintain a normal level of vitamin D, latitude and time of year significantly influence skin synthesis.

    In latitudes more than 35 degrees north of the equator (eg, Boston, Seattle), vitamin D production does not take place from November through February, regardless of the length of sun exposure.”

    And you’ve always said you needed more sun than Seattle provides!

  2. July 25, 2007 7:11 am

    Isn’t that something how you crave sun and you really do need it?

    I’m happy you got some answers, if not necessarily for the edema. You are right, things are often caused by a combination of things. There is not always a pat answer. Be well…

  3. July 25, 2007 7:14 am

    Yup, I do need more sun than Seattle provides. And I found that same study. Guess I’ll just have to find a way to make bi-yearly trips to Maui. 🙂

  4. July 25, 2007 7:45 am

    Great news, Claire! 🙂

  5. Julie permalink
    July 25, 2007 9:21 am

    Glad to hear you got a diagnosis! Sure helps to have it mapped out. I enjoy your blog very much and look forward to seeing your house projects.

  6. July 25, 2007 2:42 pm

    I’m echoing everyone else’s comments! So glad you have some results now and that it isn’t something serious. As you say, “I am happy today!” That’s great.

  7. Judi S. permalink
    July 26, 2007 12:33 pm

    I’ve been reading along for a while now – just not commenting. I am so glad to hear that you are getting answers to your health issues. Indeed, you did receive good news! : )

Comments are closed.

