Skip to content

A First for Me

July 26, 2007

Look what I grew. I’ve never been able to grow one of these (a hydrangea) before. Maybe because I’ve never tried? Anyway, after two years this finally bloomed.

img_1478_sm.jpg

I’m going to do what Bev (BJP) suggested and enlarge some of these, frame them, and use them for wall art in my newly redecorated home when it gets done.

I just think the pink is so pretty. So me. In case you hadn’t noticed.

img_1464_sm.jpg

Oh, and I know nothing about what kind of soil I have or what it is you add to turn them blue or pink, so it was purely by chance on my part that this turned out pink.

8 Comments
  1. BjP permalink
    July 26, 2007 7:45 pm

    Wow! That’s gorgeous! We have never had any luck with hydrangeas, either, and I just love its big showy bloom. They really make you stop and take notice!

    I’m thrilled you are taking my suggestion to heart! Remember your last post about doing more of what you do well? You need go no further than your camera and your ability to shoot beautiful photographs to have lovely wall art to display!

  2. July 27, 2007 5:00 am

    Lovely hydrangea – it’s just so summery!!

    FYI: Pink hydrangea like a neutral soil, while blue hydrangea like a highly acidic soil. Sometimes, over the years a pink hydrangea will change from pink to lavendar to blue if it is planted in acidic soil. To keep a pink hydrangea pink (and in somes cases intensify the pink colour) lime is added to the soil to make the ground more alkaline (basic). HTH.

  3. July 27, 2007 6:10 am

    I love hydrangeas. Mine are blue. They won’t bloom on pruned branches, so you have to leave them one year to get blooms the next. If you prune off all the flowers to dry, then you don’t get any the next year. That’s what I’ve found anyway.

  4. July 27, 2007 6:17 am

    Oooh. Thank you ladies! Yes, I didn’t prune this one from last year. I was tempted – it’s the rose gardener in me. I’ll make a note, Shannon, of the acid/alkaline information as I’d love to keep this one pink because of where it is in the garden. I have other pink flowers to complement it, and near a climbing red rose. I have another hydrangea that my daughter bought me this year that I have not yet planted. I’ll have to pick a place for it and get it in the ground to see what comes of it next year. How fun. Like Christmas in Summer. I love surprises.

  5. July 27, 2007 7:16 am

    Wow..love your pink hydrangea! They are so bright and really beautiful! Take more picture to rememer them ya…and to enjoy their beauty while they are still in their blooms. 😀

  6. Pearl permalink
    July 27, 2007 11:28 am

    Beautiful blooms! If I recall correctly, an application or two of lime will keep the flowers pink, and epsom salts will turn them white, if you like white as well. They will eventually turn blue in the Pacific Northwest if you leave them long enough, since the soil in your area (and Vancouver) is naturally acidic from all the rain and the evergreens (Also the reason why we get so much moss in our lawns in the NW – moss loves acidic soil).

    If you want to prune the bush back, I think you can prune it right after it blooms; that way it has time to form the flower buds for next year.

  7. July 27, 2007 11:45 am

    Great information, Pearl. Oh, yes, my lawn has a lot of moss. I do seem to see more blue hydrangea around here so I’m sure you are right. I’ll pick up some lime for them. 🙂

  8. July 30, 2007 4:29 pm

    very pretty. i love hydrangeas….it is the only thing i can grow. they thrive on neglect.

Comments are closed.

