Skip to content

Vitamin D Therapy

July 28, 2007

img_1487_sm.jpg

Now I have a new reason to work from home. Prescribed vitamin D treatment. “Sorry, boss, I have to work from home today as it is the one day during the Seattle summer that we actually have sun. Doc says I’m deficient in vitamin D and it primarily comes from the sun, so I have to sit in the sun all day today. Sorry.”

Today, if we actually do get any sun today (it’s overcast right now and I hope it burns off), I’ll be planted in that chair again. I’m also stopping at a friend’s house for her housewarming. She and her husband built a to-die-for drop-dead gorgeous dream home. All decorated in my style too. I’ll be taking notes, dontchaknow.

I also wanted to share a neat tidbit of serendipity with you. (From Mirriam-Webster.com: the faculty or phenomenon of finding valuable or agreeable things not sought for; )

Yesterday, I pulled up some of the carpet downstairs and found that the cats – uh, how can I put this delicately – created a new litter box instead of using the one provided for them. The moisture went clear through the pad to the subfloor. I called the flooring installers and asked about the cost of putting in partial new subfloors. They told me they don’t do that. So, just as I was calling Home Depot to find out how to do this, and the ultimate cost (expecting a HUGE expense), Gaylen called on the other line. She’s way more fun to talk to than Home Depot, so of course I answered. As I was telling her of my revolting discovery, she gave me a tip. There’s apparently a primer that you can get made specifically for this issue. So once the subfloor has dried out, all I need to do is prime it with this! Geez. $30 for a can of paint or $300 (or more) for new subflooring? Easy choice. She knows this because this is what she did in her house, and it worked just fine. I know, cuz I’ve been there.

Plus, she has a tool I can borrow to pull up the damaged maple hardwood in the entry, kitchen, and dining room myself. That will save me at least another $500. It will be a bit harder to do than just pulling up carpet and tack strip, but I have some time to get it done, and who knows, maybe I can enlist my son-in-law. (The other daughter’s friend who was helping has been banned from my house for continual disrespect to me and my property. He was surly and disrespectful of me when helping me install some blinds and kept carelessly dropping screwdrivers on my beautiful new floor! This was just the last straw. I learned the stress of having him around is not worth the small amount of physical labor help I get.Not to mention his constant negativity. And y’all know how I feel about that.)

I guess I have a lot to do, I’d better get cracking.

3 Comments
  1. July 28, 2007 12:44 pm

    Looks like a nice spot you’ve got there. I hope the sun comes out for you!

  2. BjP permalink
    July 28, 2007 12:48 pm

    Yes, Claire, Gaylen is absolutely correct about the subfloor and the product to cover up the problem area. We had the same issue with the late and great Shooter, our diabetic cat. We were amazed how bad the subfloor was in an area he had called his own, but we let it dry out and then painted it with that product before putting tile down. Dern, I can’t remember what it was because it was several years ago, but it most definitely worked. We never noticed any odor at all afterwards and it sure did beat replacing the subfloor.

    Loved your letter to your boss! Instead of taking a “sick” day, you just need to take a “sun” day! Hmmm, why not?

  3. July 28, 2007 4:55 pm

    The sun did come out today and I got to play in it for a little while. Actually, I sat in my chair and knit my sock – worked for me. g

Comments are closed.

