Skip to content

Purty, and Pooped

August 6, 2007

The kitchen floor looks great. Not yet grouted – that’s tomorrow. The grout will be a lighter color, not the dark of the thinset under it. It was important to me that the tiles (each 13 x 13) be laid on the diagonal as well. I think it makes the small kitchen look larger, and definitely adds a little more visual interest.

img_1680_1.jpg

I figured out the color for the walls. A soft cocoa color. I’m not painting it yet. Just too tired. I’m taking the night off.

Tomorrow, more paying work to do, and getting ready for an unexpected twist to this project. There’s a half wall between the dining area and the living area that’s coming out before the floors go in. I’m just drooling thinking about how open that will make the room look, especially with the lovely new floors.

img_7396.jpg

I hate this wall with a passion. It cuts short the family room and makes furnishing and layout so impossible. From everything I can tell, it’s a fake post and not load-bearing. We’ll know for sure on Wednesday.

Here’s a bit of trivia for you – in Washington State, Snohomish County, did you know that the county destroys ALL home blueprints only ninety days after the home is complete? So does the builder. Nothing even scanned in or in digital format. So, how does someone find a copy of the blueprints used to build their home? I guess the unknown tip is that you get a copy of it for yourself before it’s destroyed – just in case.

Okay, I’m exhausted. I forget that my body is still dealing with some health issues. Time for a night off.

3 Comments
  1. BjP permalink
    August 6, 2007 8:27 pm

    Purty, indeed! The diagonal layout in the kitchen looks fabulous.

    I’m all about knocking down walls that get in the way and making things more spacious and open. The older I get, the less closed in I like to be!

    You need a nice long weekend of doing absolutely nothing work-related. Hopefully you will be able to sit back and just enjoy your new surroundings very soon.

  2. August 7, 2007 5:04 am

    the diagonal layout was definitely the way to go. it looks fab!

    too weird about the destruction of the blueprints. what happens if you are the 2nd owner of the house and want to do renovations? weird. just weird.

  3. Jill permalink
    August 7, 2007 8:37 am

    I think I have that same tile in my basement – love, love, love it… I used ivory colored grout on mine, because I didn’t want it to be dark against the pretty tile, just food for thought…

Comments are closed.

