Skip to content

Getting There

August 20, 2007

The couches are here, and likely not in their final position. I can’t figure out a layout yet, so here’s the boring up against the wall version. They look like they are pushed up towards that end of the room because I want to leave room closer to the kitchen for a small, round dinette set.

img_1810_1.jpg

They look a little more browny-olive in this picture, but they aren’t really. They are a nice soft warm dark lime green. I bought a couple very large throw pillows for them which can double as floor cushions for little grandkids when they come to visit. And of course, I had to get this fun pillow with bling. It’s just perfect. Hawaiian motif and all.

img_1815_1.jpg

I don’t care for the artwork currently hanging on the walls, and I don’t like anything I see in the stores. I’ll use some of my photography, but I want a huge piece of artwork (no, not a flat screen TV) over the fireplace. I’m tempted to paint it myself once everything else is done. Yes, I can paint – I took art in school and got a grade B in my English A levels (for those of you who know what that is – if you don’t, it’s equal to some college in the US.) I think I qualify and could do a really nice job. At least it would be fun.

I was talking to my mother over the weekend and saying how busy I was with all this stuff and how it was keeping me from going to social events and such. She said, “But you enjoy this.” She’s right. I do. I really like doing all this redecorating – it’s an extension of my creativity without the pressure of doing it for a living. My only wish is that I had a male companion who enjoyed doing this stuff as well, and would help me. Maybe someday that prayer will be answered. 

3 Comments
  1. August 21, 2007 5:13 am

    those floors look amazing! can’t wait to see when you get it all the finishing touches done.

  2. gatorgirl permalink
    August 21, 2007 12:14 pm

    Your room is looking great!

  3. doitalld permalink
    September 3, 2007 9:45 am

    the floors turned out even better than i imagined… the color is so rich. i bet they look fantastic in the natural light.

    nice job… great taste…

Comments are closed.

