Skip to content

Favorite Color

August 23, 2007

In the process of all the remodeling and redecorating I’ve been doing I’ve had this slow awareness that my favorite color is changing. When I was young, I’m not sure really what my favorite color was. I think it was yellow, then orange. I once had a hot pink bedroom and loved that too. Even the carpet was hot pink. Another favorite bedroom had light blue floral wallpaper with white plantation shutters. Loved that room too.

As an adult though my favorite color seemed to land on purple. I went through a very long period where everything had purple in it. I had purple clothes, purple bedding, I even bought purple roses for my garden.

I still like purple, but I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite color. Now I’m leaning towards blue.

 cayman-islands-blue-water_crop1.jpg

(Photo: Pictureninja.com)

Blues that are tranquil and inspire peace and serenity in me. Blues, that although are considered a cool color, make me think of tropical heat and hot sandy beaches. One could argue that that is still in the purple family, just a lighter hue of it. I also am now very much into the lime greens and browns. Accented with splashes of the hot pink again.

Do we ever have just one favorite color? Or is it that we end up with a few favorites? Is it also that we grow and learn that there are a few colors in life that make us feel good, some that don’t, so we surround ourselves with more than just one that looks good on us (for clothing) or feels good (for decorating).

What sayeth you? What is your favorite color? Or do you have more than one? What does your favorite color inspire in you?

3 Comments
  1. August 23, 2007 9:40 am

    My favourite colour is definitely blue! However, I do love the shabby chic light pink/light green combination. Very much like your new header, actually 🙂

  2. August 23, 2007 10:30 am

    i don’t have a favorite anything….not color, movie, song, food, etc. for me, “it depends,” largely upon my mood. when it comes to color, i generally prefer brighter colors over pastels. reds and purples are a frequent choice. however, i love the colors in the photo too. i don’t like white or beige walls in my house, but i do wear a fair amount of white with a bright color. while i probably would never decorate a room in pastels, i have seen some that are stunning. i appreciate good design. i love color too much to discriminate against any color. 🙂 every color has a time and place in which it is the perfect choice.

  3. August 24, 2007 7:10 am

    While I would be hard pressed to name “A favorite” I do have colors I tend to learn toward. Shades of green, pinks, blues – most anything found naturally. Have fun visiting the roars today – g

Comments are closed.

