Skip to content

What I did on summer vacation

August 26, 2007

I spent my one day of summer vacation – because, if you’re in the Northwest, you know that’s all we’ve had this year – with my favorite guy and my little puppy and my oldest daughter.

personal-022_resize.jpg

Friday we went to a small local zoo to see new baby lions. He calls them “rawrs”. For him, every animal is named by the sound it makes, except for dogs, which he calls “dodgies”. I love that. My brother used to call rabbits “bunny ra-dats“. I just love the little ways two year olds try to pronounce words. But he says Lily quite well.

Sorry, I digressed. We enjoyed the zoo, got some good pictures but they’re on my other computer, so I’ll share later. My daughter and I then took him to lunch and then back to her apartment. She and her husband moved this weekend – closer to me, yay! – and so I kept my grandson for the evening and all day Saturday. We really had fun. We went to visit great-grandma and have lunch in a local lakefront town. Then home to play with the doggies for a while, and a nap. Then to mama and daddy’s new house – well, his too, but he doesn’t get that yet.

Today I helped my daughter unpack some boxes while my son-in-law put furniture together. Not very exciting, but they have a huge backyard at this new place, completely fenced in, and it’s great to go outside and run and play with the kids and puppies there.

Isn’t that what it’s all about anyway? It is for me, anyway.

One Comment
  1. August 27, 2007 8:36 am

    cute little guy! i do love the way two year olds talk. i miss those days…..my guys started 7th & 8th grade this morning. sniff, sniff….

Comments are closed.

