Skip to content

A Plan to Sew

September 3, 2007

Ha. My version of sewing with a plan.

I didn’t get any sewing done yesterday. Instead I took a nap and then went and visited my little grandkids. If a small child can’t get me out of a funk, then nothing can. Especially these little ones. They rule my heart.

personal-085_resized.jpg

I took my Lily and my daughter’s Daisy over to play in their back yard and they just love it. I stayed until the kids went to bed and kept my daughter company while her husband and his friend finished painting my granddaughter’s bedroom pink and purple. Every little six year old girl should have a pink and purple room if she so desires. We were thrifty and used paint that was leftover in my garage. One shade of purple was too light and the other was too dark, so we mixed them in a bucket to get the precise shade we wanted. My darling granddaughter loves it. While the boys were painting, she and I surfed the internet looking for fabrics for her window treatments, bedding, and pillows. I think we’ve settled on a purple unicorn fabric. All the horse and equestrian fabrics have too much brown in them.

So, today I shopped my fabric collection – after another nap, mind you. (I’m taking it slow and steady as advised by you guys!) I found a purple heavy cotton (about two yards) that will work great in my granddaughter’s room somehow.

But what I’m going to probably work on first is something for me. I pulled out the roll of fabric I have chosen for my family room to make sure I still like it. I do. Look how nicely it goes with my new couches.

personal-099_resized.jpg

I also know I can get more of this if I don’t have enough. I think I have eight yards. So, I figured I’d start planning out how I want to sew this up.

Sidetracking here… Sitting in my family room for a while now with the new floors, I realized the wall colors are all off. No, I’m not going to jump up and repaint them right now, but I will hire someone to once I decide on a color. I’m thinking the color I did my daughter’s room (the dreamy dreamsicle color) will be lovely. We’re testing it out in the small bathroom to see if we like it.

So, I figure, what is stopping me from going ahead and making these curtains? I think it will take a while and my original idea was to sew them up and use large grommets for hanging. I really like that look and since I have the faux white wooden blinds (poor man’s version of plantation shutters) I think that will work just fine.

While I was shopping my stash, I found some remnant fabric that my friend threw out a couple years ago. I caught the scraps when she tossed. LOL.

 personal-101_resized.jpg

There’s only a small amount of this, and I think she was planning on making a tablecloth and a couple placemats. But combined with some cream color fabric (I’m sure I have some somewhere), I thought this would be lovely in my new bathroom, which is going to be blue in color. I have a small window in there and it needs curtains, plus a new shower curtain. I figured I could piece the placemat scraps together like a bias binding and make a border on a shower curtain.

So, that’s my plan for right now. It may change in five minutes or five days. But slowly I’m moving closer to being back in front of my sewing machine.

Lastly, I wanted to thank you all for your kind words of support after my last post about my health. It’s very validating to know that there are others out there who, unfortunately, are experiencing the same health issues as I am. I don’t wish this on anyone, but it makes me feel just that less misunderstood and alone when I know someone “gets it”. I hope that by my sharing what’s going on with me, I can offer the same sort of hope to others.

Have a great week!

2 Comments
  1. September 3, 2007 5:38 pm

    No, I’m not going to jump up and repaint them right now, but I will hire someone to once I decide on a color.

    sounds like a feasible plan…no need to stress…KWIM?

    Glad to see some sewing inspiration going on…I’m sure the sewing machine will be buzzing this week!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  2. April permalink
    September 4, 2007 8:31 pm

    HEY! That’s my fabric! 😉

Comments are closed.

