Skip to content

Stitch and Bitch

September 8, 2007

Okay all you knitters. I need some info. I will have pictures for you tomorrow, but I just have to wonder if my experience today is typical. I sure hope not.

I have decided that I want to have something to knit. I have a zillion needles and a ton of not so expensive yarn. Some of it is really nice, because I inherited it all from my mother who usually was not a miser when it came to knitting. She used to be an avid and skilled knitter and invested in nice yarns.

So, I needed a needle guage and thought I’d check out some additional nice yarns and see what I could pick up to knit for my new grandson due in November. I went to the local yarn shop and was greeted (not directly) by a group of women sitting around the table right by the front door and they were all knitting.

Okay, so that’s not a big deal. The thing that was so off-putting to me was the conversations they were loudly having. First they were discussing potty training and one lady loudly stating how anyone who thinks they can potty train a child before two is fooling themselves. Uh, lady. I had my daughter trained at 18 months. Sheesh. I almost went over to her and said something.

So, they continued on talking and it wasn’t really the topic that bugged me so much but it was their tone and attitude. They seemed to be really gossiping about other women and not in a nice way. Not only that, but they were loud, so anyone in the store could hear them. This is what greeted me when I came in.

Further down the store there were two teenage girls talking to their mother (who was working there or owned the store) and they were discussing a sister’s attire (who wasn’t there – again gossiping) and talking about how distasteful it was and “oh my god, you aren’t going out of the house wearing wedges, are you?” HUH? I felt like at any minute they’d look my way and start criticizing me behind my back for what I was wearing.

Tell me that all knitting groups aren’t this way. Tell me that when women get together it really isn’t the stereotypical stitch and bitch that men say it is. Tell me that women in a group can really talk about substantial topics, not just gossiping about what other women do or don’t do according to their standards.

If all knitting groups are that way, I’ll knit alone. God forbid some potential date thinks I’m like that. God forgive me if I’m gossiping about them the way they were gossiping about others.

Tomorrow, I’ll have photos for you of the wonderful stash of vintage knitting patterns I inherited from my mother who now has too much arthritis to knit.

6 Comments
  1. September 9, 2007 5:04 am

    No, I’ve belonged to two knitting groups and they weren’t anything like that. Must be something in the air at that shop!

  2. September 9, 2007 6:32 am

    Claire – did you read my post about the conversations the day I went into that particular shop? And, no all women’s conversations aren’t like that – I think it’s the air in that shop. Can’t wait to see your goodies. g

  3. BjP permalink
    September 9, 2007 6:46 am

    I just found out that we have a knitting/crocheting/projects group that meets at work once a week during lunch hour. While I first thought it sounded great, I have reconsidered participating. I know most of these people and, while I like them as individuals, I’m afraid it will be a mostly bitch session. There’s enough negativity going around that I don’t think I want more!

    I hate hearing those kinds of conversations when I am in a store. The Hancock’s I go to is like that, and it’s rather offsetting to hear the manager and the staff telling each other private and TMI-stuff. Ugh.

  4. September 16, 2007 5:27 pm

    That is why I knit alone at home too.

Trackbacks

  1. Where are we? In High School? « Little Miss Sew N Sew
  2. Needle Exchange of the Knitting Kind « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

