Skip to content

Look, Ma, I’m Knitting

September 9, 2007

img_2085_1.jpg

Yes, it is fun. But not necessarily easy. It has been probably 20 years – or more – since I’ve knitted anything. I usually crochet. I thought with all the popularity of knitting, I’d pick it up again. I quickly remembered why I usually crochet. Casting on and dropping stitches. Yuk.

img_2082_fixed.jpg

I’m making a little doggie dress. Go figure.

img_0764_sm.jpg

But I had to cast on three times. I almost gave up, but not quite. We’ll see how this goes.

And why am I not sewing? Well, only because I kept forgetting to borrow my daughter’s fold-up table. Finally got it, so it will go up soon. Also, when there are times that I want to sit and watch TV, I can knit. Or when I’m visiting my daughter, I can knit.

She and I had a wonderful day today. I got to have my grandson overnight last night and that gave her a special chance to just catch up on some rest and even sleep in. I took him home this morning and took along all my yarn and books and needles. We spent a good part of the day going through patterns and she picked out a neat granny square pattern for a baby gift for her good friend who is also expecting a baby boy.

My other daughter came by a bit later and the three of us spent a lovely afternoon watching football and knitting. Well, my youngest doesn’t knit or crochet or those things, but it was lovely to just relax and enjoy a pleasant late, warm summer afternoon with my daughters and my grandson. What more can I ask for?

(Oh, and the Seahawks won. That was an added bonus.)

 

3 Comments
  1. BjP permalink
    September 14, 2007 2:05 pm

    How’s the doggie dress coming along?

    I wish I could knit but just not sure I need to add another learning project! I think a day should be more than 24 hours long! Well, ok, only SOME days!

  2. September 14, 2007 8:00 pm

    Oh, Bev. I’ve done no sewing. I have gotten things at least closer by moving it into the sewing room. We’re (well, the neighborhood) is having a big garage sale this weekend so I hope to clear a lot of stuff out of the garage so I can get to my thread and fabric!

  3. September 16, 2007 5:29 pm

    mmm, that is why I restarted knitting, those blasted chihuahua dog sweaters started at all.

Comments are closed.

