Skip to content

Fabric, where art thou?

September 15, 2007

Bev asked me how the doggie dresses were coming along. Um. They’re not. Not for lack of motivation or desire. I can’t get to my fabric. Or my needles and thread. My garage is still stuffed to the brim. So what am I going to do about that?

garage_sale_shopper.jpg

I’m joining the neighborhood garage sale! It should be fairly easy to do. Just open my garage door. Well, not quite that easy, but since 9/10 of my household belongings are in the garage, all I need to do is wheel it out to the driveway and sell it.

I’m a glutton for punishment. I really am. All this garage sale work today follows a full afternoon and evening yesterday when we (my daughters and grandkids) went to the Puyallup (pyou-wall-up) Fair and walked and walked and walked. I think in the six hours we were there I sat down twice. My hip joints and everything else are still screaming at me today. But it was worth it. I’ll post pictures later as soon as I get my camera back from my daughter.

I hope to be able to sell a couple antique dressers, a bunch of knick-knacks, and whatever else has been stashed in my garage for years without being touched. Then, I’ll hopefully have cleared a way to the fabric and notions. My daughter just placed an order (loving request) with me this morning for a couple 26″ square “reading pillows” like I made for my friend’s little boy. She wants a couple for her kids so they can sit by the bookshelf and read books. Are you kidding? I’m all over that like…. well, I’m more than happy to do it.

More later, have to flip the sign to “Open”.

3 Comments
  1. September 15, 2007 10:08 am

    Good to hear from you, Claire! Have fun with your garage sale 🙂 *hugs!* 🙂

  2. BjP permalink
    September 15, 2007 12:39 pm

    I hate garage sales with a passion, but I’ll agree that this is the perfect time for you to do it! Joining in with a neighborhood garage sale is the best way, too.

    Here’s hoping you sell lots and lots of stuff and can get to your sewing materials soon.

    I hear ya on the achey hips after walking a lot. Why does it feel like they are going to come unhinged? Sigh.

  3. September 15, 2007 6:48 pm

    Hope it went well! I wish I could have a yard sale here, but since we’re not selling crack, I don’t think anyone would show up!

Comments are closed.

