Skip to content

Crunch

September 26, 2007

Just what I needed. On my way in to work this morning, I was rear-ended by a distracted plumber in a white panel van. I soooo didn’t need this. Once again, my car fared pretty well – no visible serious damage – but my body is not faring as well.  I was at a near stop in traffic, with my foot on the brake, and the guy behind me, probably still doing around 15 mph was leaning across his van rolling down his passenger window and not looking in front of him. BAM! I screamed, startled, and stuff on my dash ended up on my seat. I was so shaken up that I couldn’t hold the pen to write down information.

I’ve been to the chiropractor already and have been instructed not to drive today, but to ice up and rest. I go to physical therapy tonight anyway, so she’ll evalutate me and see where we’re at. And I’m scheduled for a massage tomorrow to keep my back muscles loose. They are already seizing up.

Things will get worse before they get better. At least I can work from home, but I surely won’t be doing any sewing, or even any knitting. Maybe I’ll be able to knit, but we’ll have to see.

Argh. What is it with my daughter and me with car accidents? This makes, between us both, about four – possibly five – in the last 15 months.

5 Comments
  1. September 26, 2007 8:34 pm

    Oh Claire – I’m so sorry. I hope you fair better soon. g

  2. September 27, 2007 4:27 am

    Oh &#!% I’m sorry to hear this. Yes, even a “small” accident really does shake one up! I hope you’re not seriously hurt. Be well….

  3. Bev (BjP) permalink
    September 27, 2007 6:35 am

    Do you guys have a red “X” on your cars? Yikes…..not good! Sorry to hear about this. Rest up and hope you are feeling better today!

  4. September 27, 2007 7:32 am

    I calculated that between my daughter and me, we’ve had four accidents in the last 15 months. Yikes. I think people are just distracted up here. Too much gray overcast. Not enough sunshine. When the sun comes out they don’t know what to do.

    Thanks for the good wishes. I’ll be fine with the PT and treatment I’m getting. We’re staying ahead of the pain curve but I’m not supposed to drive into work this week. Dang. 😉

  5. September 27, 2007 4:56 pm

    Claire…that stinks! Sorry to hear that. Hope you’re feeling better!

    You’re not alone…a few months back, my DH was hit 3 times in the same parking lot within 30 days…ugh!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

Comments are closed.

