Skip to content

Not so bad after all

September 28, 2007

Thank you for your sweet wishes about my car accident. All in all, I’m faring quite well. It could have been worse. I knew enough about rear-end accidents to know that I should go straight to my chiropractor to start treatment for whiplash. I already had an appointment that night for my regular physical therapy, so I got started on that as well. Three days of no driving (in stop and go commuter traffic, that is) and three visits to the chiropractor, a massage, and a couple physical therapy visits, and I’m doing better than I would be otherwise. This will just be a blip on the radar. I’ve been working hard at my stabilization exercises too, so this was not so bad on my back either. There was some stiffness and swelling, but we’re ahead of the pain curve. And I haven’t taken a single pain pill or muscle relaxant!

And… still on the health front, my edema in my ankles is all gone! I think this was a result of the vitamin D deficiency, of all things. So, you know what this means? I can wear skirts now!  Better yet, I can spend time sewing skirts, once my fabric gets back out!

Meanwhile, I’ve been using this time to knit up some doggie sweaters. I’m onto my third little chihuahua sweater and will post pictures as soon as I block them and stitch the chest to the back so it looks like a sweater. They are soooo cute!

On the agenda for tomorrow – some winter clothes shopping and some winter shoes. It’s definitely fall here, there’s snow in the mountains already, and the forecast is for rain, rain, and more rain. I have no warm sweaters, need new pants, and warm skirts. I don’t have time to make them, so buy I must. And I want to hunt down some shoes like these:

nat_shoes.jpg

I don’t know whether this is the new trend or not, but I like them, and with a warm wool skirt and warm tights….mmmm. Winter won’t be so bad after all.

4 Comments
  1. September 29, 2007 3:08 am

    so glad to hear you are recovering from the accident. the shoes are way cute…but perhaps i am biased. i recently bought a pair of Clarks that are very, very similar. i liked them so much that i bought a pair in black and another pair in brown. ok, that and i have a dreadful time finding shoes that fit so i buy every color available. anyway, the Clarks are cute and way comfy. i can wear them all day for teaching and not want to chop on my feet by the end of the day.

  2. Bev permalink
    September 29, 2007 5:57 am

    Glad to hear you are doing well! And yay about the edema being gone. Love those shoes…..

  3. September 29, 2007 7:08 am

    Mermaid – Clarks are great. I used to wear them in England all the time. I’ve given up on trying to wear the really high heels anymore. I’m into comfort, but I”m finding that the shoemakers are starting to understand cute shoes while being comfortable still.

  4. September 30, 2007 4:39 pm

    Claire – late as usual! 😉 I am really glad that you are doing better and that you weren’t seriously hurt!

Comments are closed.

