Skip to content

Yertle the Turtle

October 2, 2007

When I was a little girl, I had a turtle named Yertle. I thought that was the funniest name. I liked that little turtle. Now, why do I talk about my turtle? Because turtles are the epitome of slowness, and that’s how I feel these days. Nothing I do is fast anymore – well, except for knitting the little doggie sweaters. They knit up pretty fast because they’re so small. And I’m on my fourth one – and I promise to post photos sometime. I still don’t have the baseboards painted. I have the table upstairs in the sewing room, but it’s not set up yet. The sewing machine is all there, but not plugged in. My cutting table is there, but not cleared off so I can’t cut out fabric. I even bought a new Rowenta iron, but haven’t taken my ironing board upstairs and recovered it so that I can block the sweaters.

Turtles are very patient and used to going slow. It takes them a long time to get to their destination, but they get there nonetheless. These days, the turtle is my inspiration. My reminder that slow and steady wins the race. Not that I care to win, mind you. I’d just like to finish something. Preferably something involving my sewing machine.

Meanwhile, I’ll just surf my favorite blogs and watch you all finish your lovely sewing and dream of the day when – hopefully soon – I’ll be back to making my own lovely creations for your viewing pleasure.

4 Comments
  1. Cherie permalink
    October 2, 2007 8:56 pm

    You’ll get there, babe! Last I heard, it’s not a race!

  2. October 3, 2007 1:32 pm

    The turtles is slow because he has such a heavy load to carry, his house. But he does not mind because he knows his home is whereever he is. No need to race home when home is right on your back.

    joyangel123

  3. zoeystorm permalink
    October 4, 2007 10:12 am

    Intersting note for you Dr. Suess originally drew Yertle the turtle with a Hitler mustache, and the story is pretty much a political cartoon about him, but he removed it because either he or his publishers didn’t think the main character should resemble the monster even if the story was about him or some reason close to that. I can’t remember the exact reason for removal but I’m absolutely positive about the story and that there was a mustache at one point.

  4. October 4, 2007 4:25 pm

    Zoeystorm: That’s really interesting. I forgot that Yertle the Turtle came from Dr. Seuss. I should have done my research!

Comments are closed.

