Skip to content

It’s All Gaylen’s Fault

October 5, 2007

For luring me into the dark side. (Just kidding, Gaylen, you’re not to blame, but it is a eye-catching title. 🙂 )

A block from my work there is a lovely little yarn shop called Hilltop Yarn East (don’t know where Hilltop Yarn West or Central or North or South is, but there you go.) Every time I drive home from work, I see this shop and give myself a mental reminder to stop in there…someday. Well today I thought, oh whatever. I’m stopping in for a browse. Ya, famous last words, right? My self-restraint slipped right out the door as I went in the door.

Here’s what came home with me. (Not shown – a new pair of circular needles.)

personal-269_small.jpg

Oh my gosh. The sensuality of soft yarn in my hands, between my fingers, is just irresistable. This yarn is a mix of “microacrylic, micronylon, and rabbit angora.” So soft, yet sturdy, and is machine washable (on gentle, of course.)

I wanted something to make for my new grandson, Evan, who is due in six weeks but really didn’t want to spend $100 on yarn for a crib blanket. Well, I spent half that on this stuff! And I don’t even have enough to do the sweater, I think. We’ll see.

I picked the light blue to try the little hat. I know my daughter will adore those colors. I chose the other colors to show her for the sweater and hat combo. She might not like those colors, but I love them.

Knitting is not new to me, really. It’s just been a gazillion years since I’ve knitted. As a young teenager, I knitted sweaters, felted one even without knowing what I was doing. (I washed it by accident and now it would fit one of our doggies.) My mother was an avid knitter, and I took up crochet. Someday I’ll post the awesome crochet bedspread that’s been on hold for ten years – literally.

Now I’m remembering how pleasurable knitting and crocheting can be for the times you can’t sew, or can’t be at the sewing machine. It really is addictive. Like I need another addiction or place to blow my money. Although, this purchase I can certainly justify – my little grandson Evan will be totally worth it, I’m sure.

8 Comments
  1. October 6, 2007 4:53 am

    i love those colors too. knitting has been calling out to me too. just haven’t had the time to get to a yarn shop. it would be wonderful thing to take along when i have planning periods on subbing days.

    teri

  2. October 6, 2007 6:03 am

    If it was my fault you would have come home with enough yarn to knit the entire outfit! I’ll get you to Great Yarns and you’ll be done! Hey, they are having a sale today (they never have sales).

    And for the cost of entertainment – knitting is cheap for the amount of time it will take you to knit that up – cheap I say! Have you priced a movie lately? g

  3. October 6, 2007 6:18 am

    Gaylen – you’re on! Let’s go! I’m up for a sale – always. And you’re right – I would have had enough for the whole sweater. See you soon!

  4. October 6, 2007 9:05 am

    Beautiful yarns! I don’t knit much, but baby sized garments are about all I have the patience for. There is a Hilltop Yarn (West?) in my ‘hood (Queen Anne), such lovely things in there…

  5. zoeystorm permalink
    October 6, 2007 10:03 am

    Love the pattern. I still havent learned much knitting beyond your basic scarf but want to soon. I just started crocheting with wire for jewelry.. thats interesting… not sure this first piece will be beautiful but its kinda fun… took forever to string the beads on though. Anyways good luck with the outfit I need to make something for an upcoming niece or nephew so send over any leftovers would ya? lol

  6. October 7, 2007 10:27 am

    Love the yarn colors…especially the sweet green one!

    I am dying to take up knitting…but I keep stopping myself as I’m afraid I’ll end up with a yarn addiction to match my fabric addiction.

    Heck, I’m going to the yarn store tomorrow…does anyone have a good recommendation for a beginner’s knitting book? Does it matter that I’m left-handed?
    With friendship,
    Lisa

  7. October 7, 2007 6:11 pm

    Lisa: Can’t help you with the book suggestion, but you could try scouring thrift stores for books. I have some vintage “Learn to Knit” stuff that was my mom’s and it is all the same, I suppose.

    Christina, Zoeystorm: I love the colors too. I finished the baby hat – I’ll post shortly – and started on the sweater with the green and blue variegated. It’s darling, if I do say so myself.

  8. October 13, 2007 11:40 am

    Went to the Hilltop Yarn East website and am so jealous. What an awesome shop to get lost in. These new baby yarns are irresistible, I could get drunk on them. Yarn Drunk.

Comments are closed.

