Skip to content

My Murphy’s Law of Knitting (or Sewing)

October 9, 2007

Or alternatively titled “Why it’s a pain in the a$$ to be a perfectionist.”

The harder I try to get something finished within a certain time frame, the more times I will end up redoing it.

For example, I’m trying to get a baby sweater knitted by this Saturday, which is my daughter’s baby shower. So far, I’m still stuck on the back piece as I’ve had to undo about ten rows at least twice. The same thing happens to me when I’m sewing under pressure. I make mistakes and the seam ripper becomes my best friend. Granted, for this baby sweater, the baby will be lying on its back most of the time, so no one really would ever notice any flaws, but I would. I would know. And I sure don’t want the sweater to look homemade, in a bad way.

And…I’d give you photos, but I’ve maxed out my photo space with WordPress and am waiting for PayPal to clear my purchase of additional space. I seem to have the worst luck with PayPal being very timely.

Meanwhile, on to good news. My daughter went for her final ultrasound before baby Evan is born. Baby is scheduled to be born November 20, at 7:30 a.m. I was kinda disappointed that I didn’t get to go, but I wouldn’t have seen anything anyway. He’s turned the right way, head down, and feet up by her ribs, face pointing towards her spine – unlike his bigger brother Cayden who was breech and folded in half when he was born. I’m so excited for her. And doctor expects this baby to be about 8.5 pounds. Yeah! She won’t be going home with a toddler this time. (Cayden was 9lbs 5 oz when he was born.) She and her husband just make big babies – but she is tall, and so is he.

Unfortunately, once again, my daughter’s birthday will be overshadowed by something else – but this time it’s a good event. Her birthday will be nine days before little Evan gets here. Last year, I was in Hawaii at this time and not here for her birthday. Sure, she’s going to be 28, and it’s not like she’s turning sweet 16, but in our family, birthdays are a very big deal. For me, it’s so important to celebrate the special person’s existence in our lives and how our lives would be so empty and different without them. To me, birthdays are even more important than Christmas and other nationally recognized holidays because they celebrate real people in my real life, today, in the moment.

But for the baby shower on Saturday, I did get a stinking cute baby hat done. That got done over the weekend. And baby Evan gets to wear it home from the hospital. I promise a picture of that when the time comes. Can you tell I’m an excited “Danma”?

3 Comments
  1. October 10, 2007 5:00 pm

    I have full faith in you that your new grandson will be sporting your handmade sweater home from the hospital…you can do it!

    I have a habit of waiting till the last minutes (example, last week’s baby shower)…and then perfection creeps in…and then abundance (making too much crap in hopes of others overlooking your imperfections)…it’s a vicious cycle, I tell ya! Hang in there!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  2. October 10, 2007 7:38 pm

    Thanks, Lisa. I have the back almost done. It will be ready for the delivery, but not for the shower. But that’s ok. She’ll have plenty of stuff to open.

  3. October 25, 2007 4:56 pm

    Hello it was an absolute pleasure to come across, and read your blog. You really have some interesting information that I will have to share with my wife. If your ever looking for fabrics Lauren & I would be more than willing to help. Just let us know. Have a great evening.

    Josh & Lauren
    http://www.trendyfabrics.com

Comments are closed.

