Skip to content

Saturday Miscellany

October 13, 2007

When I pull open the curtains in my bedroom in the morning, this is what greets me.

personal-387_sm.jpg

As I look to my right, northwesterly, I see this.

personal-390_small.jpg

A light fog kisses the tops of the trees waiting to be brushed off by the morning sun. And we are expected to get sun today. In fact, when I look back towards the golden trees, they are even more brightly yellow as the sun starts to rise and reflect off the leaves.

I love this view in the mornings, any season throughout the year. In the spring time as the leaves are just budding, these trees are vibrating with the chirps of little birds and woodpeckers fluttering to and fro.

Sigh. Life is good.

~~~~~~ 

Today is my daughter’s baby shower. I had so much fun shopping for her last night. This morning, I’ll have to spend my time wrapping everything up and then heading off to her friend’s home, who is hosting the shower. I’m sure she’ll be happy with everything she gets, although I know she will need so much more. She wasn’t expecting to have any more children, so after Cayden, she gave away everything – swings, portacribs, bottles, bath stuff, car seat, boppy (for nursing the baby), and more. Cayden still uses his crib mattress, so she needs another one of those. Geez this stuff is expensive. And… oh. my. god. It’s all so stinking cute too. I’m sure glad I’m not having babies now because I’d go bankrupt.  

~~~~~~~

And speaking of stinking cute, here’s the little baby hat I made a couple weekends ago for little Baby Evan to wear home from the hospital.

personal-286_sm.jpg

And here’s the back of the sweater when it was in-progress. It is now completed and I’m working on the front left of the sweater that has a tiny cable stitch in it. It’s not intended to match the hat – the hat that goes with this outfit will be in the lime green.

 personal-291_sm.jpg

However, now that I’ve colorblocked it this way and am working on the front, I’m not so sure I made the right choice. The cable pattern goes all the way up the front, and to color block it like I did the back will require cutting the cable pattern into two colors, unless I figure out how to do two colors per row. Hmmm.

Okay, that’s about all for now. I’d better get busy or I’ll be late. Not good for the “Danma” to be late! (Cayden now calls me “Danma”, or “MomMom”)

Oh, one last bit of stinking cuteness. Yesterday I had to go to the chiropractor, and I got my daughter to go as well. She has been having some back pain that is pregnancy related. She had both kids with her and while I’m in one room with the curtain drawn and on the back stretching machine, I could hear Cayden running around in the lobby asking, “Mama, where Danma? Where Danma, Mama? MAMA!”

Happy Saturday, and happy sewing or doing whatever floats your boat.

2 Comments
  1. October 13, 2007 11:34 am

    First off, that view of yours is just beautiful. How I wish I woke up and saw that in the morning. I miss foliage so much, and your photos were really refreshing.

    And I love that sweater you’re making! As a fellow knitter, seeing your adorable hat and the way-cool yarn you’re using for that sweater made me want to get out my needles out and take a look in my stash to see what I can come up with. I always see you at Moonbeam McQueen’s blog, I should have stopped in here a long time ago!

  2. October 13, 2007 8:24 pm

    LWB: Thanks so much for visiting me! Knitting is no longer just for old ladies, and for that I’m happy! Yes, do take out your needles and share what you come up with. It’s probably been 30 years since I last knitted something. I used to crochet all the time, but I really like the tightness of knitting.

Comments are closed.

