Skip to content

Time’s Running Out

October 21, 2007

As of today, I have only 29 days before my daughter gives birth to my second grandson, Evan. And I have only 20 days until her birthday. At this point, I doubt I’m going to get anything sewn before baby gets here. I’ve still not gotten my sewing room back in order, although it’s closer. I have temporary tables set up and the sewing machine and serger out.

The problem is not necessarily time – although that’s always a consideration when one works a full time job – but it’s energy. I just don’t have the energy these days to do what it takes to get it all back in order. It’s everything I can do right now to get the household chores done, and even some of those I’m restricted from doing by my doctor. I do them anyway, because I can’t stand the dust bunnies on my beautiful new hardwood floors. And with four cats and three little chihuahuas running around, there are plenty of those. Maybe once I get some additional paid help, things will be more likely to get sewn.

Regardless, I’ve decided not to worry about whether or not I get anything sewn or even just cut out. In my heart I know I would, if I could. I still love to sew. I love everything about it and how it makes me feel when I’ve crafted something myself. I’ll get there – someday.

But for now, I’m focusing on enjoying every single second of my daughter’s pregnancy. This is her last one, and I want to enjoy it as thoroughly as possible. I want to be completely present and rested for every moment as it unfolds.

3 Comments
  1. October 22, 2007 8:34 am

    priorities. there are only 24 hrs in the day. we often forget that “rest and taking care of our bodies” has to be on the “to do” list. you are smart to realize that taking care of your health is a top priority. being healthy enough to enjoy your dd and that new baby is way more important than making a gift. believe me, i understand how much fun it is to make sweet little baby things, but that may need to wait a bit.

    love my hardwoods too, but those dust bunnies! we bought a swiffer “sweep & vac” that has been great. it sucks up the dust bunnies, but is very lightweight. i can swiffer the whole lower floor of the house in just a few minutes.

  2. October 23, 2007 6:34 pm

    You have the right attitude. If you’re exhausted and stressed out from trying to do it all, how can you enjoy the really important (and fun) stuff?

  3. October 24, 2007 9:46 am

    Mermaid – I’ll have to check out that swiffer sweep & vac. Although I have a Dyson that works on barefloors, it’s kinda heavy and annoying to carry up and down the stairs.

    LWB – you are right too! I’ve always enjoyed the little kids in my life. It’s virtually impossible to have a bad day or feel sorry for oneself when you see such joy and purity in them.

Comments are closed.

