Skip to content

Sugary Sweet Goodness

October 27, 2007

Halloween season, fall, autumn – whatever you call it – is not complete without caramel apples. At least, not for me.

caramelapples_adj_sm.jpg

So, today, that’s what we ended up doing. It took a while to get there, though. First, I picked up the two little ones and babysat while mommy and daddy went and bought a minivan. With baby number three on the way, there was no way they’d get three car seats in the back of a sedan. And there’s no way you can sit through several hours of financing and negotiation at a car dealer with a toddler and a six year old who instigate each other into doing everything they shouldn’t.

We had to go run errands, like get cat food, take it home and feed the cats, and then one of the cats got out. Boy, I forgot how hard it is to do stuff when you have two small kids in car seats. And when the cat got out, I surely couldn’t leave them alone inside the house while I go search for the cat. It would be my luck that one of them would flush something they shouldn’t, eat dog food from the dog bowl, or worse. So… the cat stayed out. (She did come home later, to the sound of her mama, my other daughter.) But I digress…

After errands, we went back to my daughter’s house and we played in the backyard and I kept the kids entertained while waiting for their parents to get back with the new van. Yeah! Then, of course, we needed an excuse to go for a ride in the new van, so we went to the store to actually get the apples and caramels, along with dinner.

Finally, after dinner, we got busy and started making the apples. So, for your viewing pleasure are a few pictures of the fun event.

Here are the two helpers.

helpers_102707_sm.jpg 

This was Cayden’s first time making caramel apples. He was so into it and excited to see how it works. I wonder if he’ll ever remember this. Probably not, but I sure will.

  caydenapples_sm.jpg

I was in charge of melting the caramels and my little helper, Cayden, had to copy me and sit by me at the stove, clinging so tightly to my arm. Sheesh. That sweetness alone could have melted the caramels. 

caramelapples_102707_sm_2.jpg

Then, my daughter had a brilliant idea to dip the caramel apples in crushed Whoppers. Yum. Elise was an old hat at dipping caramels.

caramelapples2_adj_sm.jpg

caramelapples3_adj-sm.jpg

Ah, yes, it was a great day. Full of sugar and sweetness in every way.

6 Comments
  1. Bev permalink
    October 28, 2007 9:09 am

    You have a great tradition going on here! Kids love to look back at the memories made with Grandma, whatever they may be. I know I’ll never forget canning green beans with one of my Grandma’s or plucking a chicken with the other. And my own children remember fondly the many hours of picking strawberries, beans, and peas with their Grandma.

    Personally, I love caramel apples and what a great idea of crushing up candies for toppings.

    Sounds like it was a great day!

  2. April permalink
    October 28, 2007 7:09 pm

    That looks like LOADS of fun.

  3. October 29, 2007 8:35 pm

    So adorable. I love these photos. What beautiful little kids, and what a great time you must have had. Those apples came out perfect, and you didn’t even have to pay $20 a piece for them on QVC! (I’m always amazed by those expensive TV apples, but I’m really quite square about that stuff.) How are your hats coming along? I started a pair of red socks to work on as a sort of prayer shawl while watching my Red Sox, but they won so fast I’m only half done with the first sock! I guess it worked.

  4. October 29, 2007 8:38 pm

    Oops. Something just occurred to me. You’re not in Colorado, right? Right? YOU’RE NOT IN COLORADO ARE YOU? If so, sorry about my prayer shawl/socks.

  5. October 30, 2007 10:02 am

    Haa Haa, no, LWB, I’m in Washington State – slightly northeast of Seattle. I didn’t watch baseball this year, so no prob.

    I’m the hat knitting queen! I’ve done three baby hats now. Two for my grandson-to-be, one as a gift, and now I’m on my fourth hat for my sweet little granddaughter. I’m making up the pattern so it’s more feminine and lacy looking.

    As soon as I get my camera back from my daughter, I’ll take pics!

  6. November 7, 2007 5:23 am

    Nice family! Awesome site!. Its so great to find sites that can make me smile when the world is in such chaos. If youre into cats, and I think you are 🙂 Go by and check out his site, http://www.righteouskitty.com. The guy is charming, his cats are cool, pass it on to anyone who loves cats. He put the site up to help with some vet bills, but he seems to be getting a small following. Anyway, thanks again for putting your creativity online for us to share. It makes the world a better place.

Comments are closed.

