Skip to content

The Little Mama’s Birthday

November 11, 2007

Today my little mama, my oldest daughter, Cindy, turns 28. Good gawd, she’s pushing 30! Soon, she’ll be the same age as me! Ha Ha.

cindy.jpg 

And soon she will be giving birth to her second son – in less than 9 days! She’s scheduled for a c-section on the 20th, if little Evan doesn’t decide he wants to be here earlier. My prediction is the 14th. Elise was born on the 14th, and then, since Cayden was breech, they picked the 14th for him. My guess is that Evan doesn’t want to be left out, so he wants the 14th as well.

Twenty-eight years ago today… well, I’ll spare you the birthing story. Let’s just say this little girl, my first daughter, was born a mama and was born grown-up. She was always so easy and responsible and I love her for that. What’s interesting, too, is that she had babies in April and November, and so did I.

This little girl, being the youngest in her class all through school, did very well with her grades, did Girl Scouts, was an excellent diver with her long legs (we used to call her Cindy Long Legs) and competed on the local dive team. She was also an excellent skiier. She was my little buddy. She still is. I’m very proud of her and the mother she has become to her own children. She is a far better mother than I ever was. She is involved, present, loving, and devoted. And I have to give a shout-out to her hubby, Cody, who is the best dad to their kids and husband to her. He is an participating dad, and works so hard to support her and love her so that she can be a great mommy to their children. She is fortunate to be able to be a stay-at-home mom. And they are doing an excellent job of raising my little grandchildren, whom I adore.

Today we will be celebrating her birthday with a dinner at Olive Garden with her grandmother, my mom. There will be four generations at one table. How cool is that?

Anyway, Happy Birthday, Cindy Lou. I love you.

2 Comments
  1. November 12, 2007 9:08 am

    There are so many coincidences in this story. My oldest daughter is 27, she’ll be 28 next summer. Her name is Cody. She’s always been the little mother in the family, and that’s what my sons call her: Mini Ma. She was always the youngest in her class (because of her July birthday). We’re best buddies. And I used to tell her that pretty soon she’d be as old as me, but now I say to her, “How could you be 27? I’m not 27 yet!”

    And yours is beautiful, just like mine.

  2. November 12, 2007 1:05 pm

    Aw, thanks, LWB. We had a great time at dinner. I forgot to take the camera into the restaurant. I decided that was okay because I wanted to savor every moment of the dinner. It was entertaining to watch the interaction between my six year old granddaughter and my 87 year old mother. What an age span. But get this – my mother was wearing sandals that both my daughters coveted! How cool is that? No fuddy duddies in this family. 🙂

Comments are closed.

