Skip to content

We Struck The Motherlode

November 17, 2007

A friend of mine can no longer knit for medical reasons and she so generously gave me her stash of yarn.

 2007-479_sm.jpg

In those bags which I have so obsessively compulsively organized by color and texture are a variety of wonderfully fun yarns. Merlin has already picked out his favorite. He still thinks he’s a girl and gravitates to the pink shades.

There are these fun waspy knits that I have no idea how to knit up, but I’m sure I’ll learn.

2007-480_sm.jpg

And lots of lovely boucle yarns.

2007-483_sm.jpg

My friend had chosen the orange and green colorways as her favorite, so I’ll be knitting up some surprises for her with them. Can’t tell you until I have them done and delivered because I think she lurks on my blog. I do have enough yarn now to make everyone on my Christmas list something for Christmas. I think this would be great for my son-in-law. what do you think?

party-tie-21.jpg

I’m only kidding. But if I’m going to get anything knitted, I’d better get busy! I’m still finishing up a lacy knitted cap for my granddaughter, which I had to completely undo once because I wasn’t counting diligently enough.

(No baby yet. Still waiting. Normally, I’m quite patient, but I’m very eager to see this darling boy. I’ll keep you updated and post a pic of him wearing the little knitted hat I made him.)

7 Comments
  1. November 18, 2007 1:32 am

    what a treat for you! but sorry your friend’s health is preventing her from knitting. 😦

    the knitted tie….was it in the 80’s that those were popular? sorry, they were not a good look the first and still not a good look. 🙂 tho, it could be funny to make him one from some particularly ugly yarn, wrap it lavishly, let him think you *love* it, and see his reaction. yes, i am evil that way.

    teri

  2. November 18, 2007 6:45 am

    Wow, look at all that beautiful yarn!

  3. November 18, 2007 8:14 am

    Oh, Teri – I had the exact same thought. I found a pattern for a bow-tie, which I thought might be faster. My son-in-law loves practical jokes that way. And, yes, it’s a shame that my friend can’t knit. We could hang out and knit together. Although she does have an embroidery sewing machine and does some quilting, I believe. 🙂

    Stacy: There are some really, really lovely yarns in there, for sure!

  4. November 18, 2007 10:47 am

    This stash is excellent. And I love knitted ties like that — not on men, but on kids and women. This is tie I made using that great Italian yarn that creates a beautiful pattern. I love it, and it was so much fun to make:

    http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEspring03/PATTprepschool.html

  5. November 18, 2007 10:57 am

    LWB: I agree – it would be fun for a whimsical outfit for, oh, say, my granddaughter? 🙂

  6. November 18, 2007 5:30 pm

    Claire – that is the name of that yarn that Merlin has his foot on? It look exactly like some yarn that The Princess got at Joann’s 2 years ago and then they discontinued. She needs approximately 2 balls to finish the project she started back then. g

  7. November 18, 2007 7:05 pm

    Gaylen: I’m sure it did come from Joann’s – much of this yarn did. However, I only have two skeins of it. I wonder if they have it on EBay?

Comments are closed.

