Skip to content

Silly Girl

November 19, 2007

I finally finished my granddaughter’s hat that I promised her. There was only one skein in the shop of this colorway and I pretty much made up the pattern to this hat myself.

2007-513.jpg

This is the same yarn I used for the baby hats I made recently. I used the same 2×2 rib knit (128 stitches cast on) for the band, and then found a lace leaf pattern that had a stitch pattern of 8 stitches. Now, if I was really mathematical, I would have calculated out how many stocking stitches I needed to include at each end of the pattern for a nice flat seam. But oh well. It still looks really sweet on her. She can fold up the rib section too, if she wants.

2007-514_sm.jpgΒ 

Here’s a slightly blurry closeup image so you can see the lace leaf pattern.

2007-516.jpg

And silly girl – I was lucky to get these few straight poses so I let her make a really funny face for the camera. She can’t sit still because she’s so excited for a new baby brother tomorrow morning.

2007-517_sm.jpg

6 Comments
  1. November 19, 2007 4:53 pm

    What a cutie you have there!! The hat is cute too! LOL

  2. November 19, 2007 6:19 pm

    Definitely a cutie!

    Best wishes for a healthy birth and baby tomorrow! How will you ever sleep tonight??

  3. November 19, 2007 7:39 pm

    Thank you, Adrienne, I’m pretty partial to her myself.

    Debbie, I have no idea how I’ll sleep. At least I’ll be at my house and the wired kids are at my daughter’s! I have to leave the house by 5:15 in the morning to get there on time. That’s unheard of for me these days!

  4. November 20, 2007 3:30 am

    what a beautiful girl. she looks a lot like her grandma. πŸ™‚

    i am sending happy baby thoughts your way and will be checking your blog obsessively during the day. please give that sweet little baby head a kiss for me.

  5. November 23, 2007 10:33 am

    Love this cute hat, and is that yarn called “watercolor”? I think I have a couple skeins of it. And your model’s pretty cute, too. πŸ˜‰

  6. November 23, 2007 2:13 pm

    The hat is sweet, thank you. I’m not sure what colorway is, but it’s Bunny Hop yarn by Crystal Palace. I know I have the skein wrapper solmewhere… and I sure can’t find this particular blend online. Hmmmm.

    The thing about making such a cute hat for a six year old is they don’t appreciate it near as much as an adult does – but I knew that when I made it. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

