Skip to content

Turkey Day Leftovers

November 23, 2007

My favorite thing about the day after Thanksgiving is sandwiches made from turkey leftovers. And this year, another favorite thing is getting to see baby Evan and the other kids. Mama and baby are home now, and it’s a much easier commute than going to the hospital 25 miles away. Plus, I know she’s happy to be home finally.

Yesterday, when she came home we decorated her house with streamers and It’s a Boy signs and prepared a full Thanksgiving dinner for her. She didn’t get home until almost three in the afternoon and we didn’t get dinner served until around 7:30. Very late for us. But it all worked out okay. We threw formality aside and ate in shifts so one person was always available to help mama and baby. Of course, there’s one little girl who was too excited to eat. She just wanted to help with baby at all times.

evan-048.jpg

And my youngest daughter was a real trooper too. She and I both deal with chronic pain and fatigue issues, but she was the main person responsible for getting this whole dinner together. She did the shopping, most all the food preparation except the turkey, and that’s a lot! She also took care of the dogs because I was up at my daughter’s house with the kids from 7:30 a.m. yesterday so Daddy could go to the hospital and get his wife and baby and bring them home.

evan-051.jpg

Talk about some good kids at the hospital the other day – these kids really enjoyed the hospital pudding cups.

evan-060.jpg

And my mother is also very excited about her second great-grandson. She came to the hospital twice, and joined us yesterday for Thanksgiving.

 evan-069.jpg

And I just love this picture. This shows 87 years of hands, from newborn to the elderly. (Note my mother’s airbrushed acrylic nails. That’s her style!)

evan-075.jpg

And now I must get some more rest before I have to go back to my daughter’s and help out some more. I think hubby has to work, and I have the day off.

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving – if you are American – and if you’re not, well, I hope you are safe, happy, and well.

7 Comments
  1. November 23, 2007 10:31 am

    First of all, that baby is sweet and adorable. But your mom is BEAUTIFUL! Wow, you’ve got some good genes in your family. You’re a lucky lady, and congrats Grandma!

  2. November 23, 2007 12:16 pm

    He’s so adorable!!! I’m glad you had such a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  3. November 23, 2007 2:06 pm

    LWB: Thank you! My mom was a total knockout as a brunette back in the 30s and 40s. She was the epitome of everything glamorous during that era. Still today she dresses with pizzazz. I wish I could say I got my genes from her, but she’s not my biological mother. Still, nurture not nature, right?

    Stacy: He is pretty stinking cute. 🙂 Of course, I’m prejudiced.

  4. November 23, 2007 4:48 pm

    sounds like a fabulous day! so happy for you! keep those great baby photos coming.

  5. Belle permalink
    November 23, 2007 9:00 pm

    Wonderful pictures and I especially liked the “hands on” one. Lovely. Glad everyone is happy and healthy!

  6. April permalink
    November 24, 2007 9:00 am

    Looks like you guys had lots of fun! I hope Cindy is feeling better. Of course, Evan is a complete doll.

  7. November 24, 2007 9:27 am

    We did, April, but of course, I’m exhausted! Probably not as much as Cin tho. 🙂

Comments are closed.

