Skip to content

Let it Snow, La La La

November 26, 2007

We’ve got snow. Yeah, baby! Well, it’s white rain but it is sticking somewhat at 6:30 p.m. and overnight the wet will turn to ice where I live. If it continues to get colder, there may be a blanket of snow around my house in the morning. I love snow as long as I don’t have to drive in it. And I don’t. I can do anything I need to from home – well, everything except go up to my daughter’s and help her with the baby. But her husband is home, so she’s not alone. I’m 0 for 2 in driving in inclement weather this year, so I’m not risking it.

Here’s my early resolution for the holiday season: I’m not buying anything unnecessary. Check out Buy Nothing Christmas and see if you feel like participating. Every summer I see gobs of wasteful Christmas gifts piled up at yard sales. It’s the shameless consumerism that drives me to Scroogedom over the holiday season. The spending of money I don’t have on things no one wants or needs. Just because it’s on sale and a good deal doesn’t mean it needs to go home with me. Why go in debt to benefit the retailers? Why not stay out of debt to benefit myself and have money to help spoil my little grandkids when they need it? Sounds like a good idea to me.

Things I do want to focus on this holiday season are:

  • Spending time with family
  • Spending more time with family
  • Sleeping
  • Eating (not too much)
  • Knitting
  • Maybe sewing
  • Playing with my grandkids
  • Walking the dogs
  • Spending more time with family
  • Loving on the baby Evan
  • Visiting friends
  • Spending time with family

See a theme here?

zenta_claus.gif

(Zenta Claus photo courtesy of Buy Nothing Christmas at adbusters.com)
4 Comments
  1. November 26, 2007 8:04 pm

    That Buy Nothing Christmas was a really interesting site, thanks for mentioning it. You’ve got the right idea about getting through/celebrating Christmas. Getting in debt for that one day a year is so stupid. I wish more people would figure that out.

  2. November 27, 2007 7:33 am

    we have never gone crazy with holiday gifts, however, last year, we made a real effort to think “outside the box.” we talked about gifts we could give that can’t be put in a box. instead of tangible things, we thought about what we could *do* for people on our gift list. instead of wrapping up chucks of plastic and circuit boards, we spent winter break doing fun activities with the boys. we went ice skating, saw lots of movies with the big bucket of popcorn, and went to eat their favorite restaurants. yes, it was still spending money, but it was also spending lots of time together as a family.
    one of my “gifts” to the boys was a whole day of no nagging about too much “screen time.” they played video games all day….had a blast…but they both admitted to having a headache later in the day. they had fun, but they also learned that sometimes mom’s nagging is a good thing. 🙂 turned out to be a gift for me too!

  3. November 27, 2007 8:12 am

    Mermaid, I think that’s the right idea too. If my family wants to get me anything they can do things for me, like hang curtain rods, or paint baseboards, or change a litter box for me. None of that costs them a dime.

  4. November 29, 2007 5:50 pm

    I love the idea of making the holidays more about togetherness than everyone stressing out about what to get each other. It sometimes gets so excessive that it feels almost sinful. I’d rather just hug my kids thirteen thousand times.

Comments are closed.

