Skip to content

A Minor Distraction

November 30, 2007

I’m in the middle of a huge deadline and have far too much editing to do in the short amount of time the client’s given me. I have to “grok” (which means to understand but where does that word come from anyway?) a bunch of really technical software architecture engineering words and eliminate the jargon so that someone who doesn’t speak in acronyms can understand. And I have to deliver it next Thursday. Great. No pressure here.

So, to ease the strain on my brain, I have to take frequent breaks and diversions. Below is one such diversion. My daughter and hubby went shopping to get hubby a new Seahawks hat. Hubby wanted one just like the new one that our quarterback, Matt Hasslebeck wears. The hat store was having a special, so Cayden (aka Cody’s Mini-Me) got one just like dad.

caydengotahat2.jpg

I can look at this picture often, imagine his squishy cheeks puffing out as he smiles at me and says ” I go to Danma’s house in Danma’s dar to see dodgies. Peez?” Then I can handle the acronymn and jargon overload. At least for the next ninety minutes.

Toodles. Off to use Track Changes and my American Heritage Thesaurus.

2 Comments
  1. December 15, 2007 7:21 am

    GROK, from the Heinlein scifi novel, Stranger in a Strange Land (1961). Yeah, you already know what it means. It also implies a deep, wholistic understanding.

  2. December 15, 2007 10:20 am

    Thanks, David!

Comments are closed.

