Skip to content

Thrifty Christmas

December 3, 2007

Finally this year I heard the words I’ve been dying to hear for years: “Mom, I think we should get an artificial tree this year.” Don’t get me wrong – I love the smell of real Christmas trees and there’s something fun about going and picking one out and making a real evening of it with getting it home, sawing the trunk to fit into the stand, and then decorating it while drinking hot chocolate or egg-nog. I loved those days with my daughters and they are memories I’ll always treasure.

But the time comes where there’s one too many chewed-up-by-cats-and-urped-up pine needle mess to contend with. And now with the puppies, I’m sure it would be worse. I’m also not willing to risk spilling a tree stand full of water all over my new hardwood floors. Not to mention the multiple sweeping or vaccuming of needles as they fall off, and then the discarding of the old tree after the holidays are over. So, when the time came for a tree, I was more than willing to get an artificial one.

Until I looked at the cost of them. Good grief! $150, $200 a pop and they’re all prelit. What if I wanted to use my own lights on them or change colors each year? Well, elves come in all shapes and sizes and my daughter’s landlord happened to have one in their garage he didn’t want and said I could borrow it. Wow! I checked it out thinking it’s probably 90 years old and ratty. Far from it. This is a lovely, fairly new, prelit (haha) artificial tree.

I put it up the other day while my younger daughter was at work. I tried to wait for her to get home to decorate it, but she was really late, so I went ahead. It’s not the same doing these things alone but her excitement when she came home and it was all decorated and lit was worth it.

christmastree2007.jpg

And did I mention it was free? I bought nothing new this year for the tree. That frees up (no pun intended) money to spoil my grandchildren – because you know, it’s really about them. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Toodles for now.

8 Comments
  1. December 4, 2007 7:03 am

    Your tree looks so pretty. I’m not feeling in a very holiday mood. It doesn’t help that I can’t get the decorations out by myself! Love your new banner from the snow day – so pretty, I wish it could have lasted longer. g

  2. December 4, 2007 8:22 am

    Gaylen: I know, me too. I love the snow. Hope you are staying off your feet.

  3. April permalink
    December 4, 2007 8:45 am

    I like it! We have a “fake” tree. It’s really the way to go, if you ask me!

  4. Bev permalink
    December 5, 2007 5:36 am

    For many many years, hubby and I had a lot of fun going out to buy the cheapest but best-looking real tree we could find. Then my folks gave us their older artificial tree after they got a new one. Then after that one fell apart, a dear friend of mine gave me another artificial tree that was past its prime. It’s amazing how great even a lopsided or kinda scraggly tree looks after you pile on the decorations!

    We finally broke down 2 years ago and bought a pre-lit artificial tree after watching the sales and the markdowns because we couldn’t believe how much they cost, either! I love it.

    Your tree looks gorgeous. Our cats love sitting under the tree – I feel like they are stalking us as prey, tho! Plus you are right about cats eating the real pine needles……lunch! (We have one who is not too bright but at least gave up on climbing the tree as he used to do in his youth. Now it would be too much of an effort, ha.)

  5. December 5, 2007 7:10 am

    Bev – I’m of the same mindset as you and your hubby. It’s kinda fun to have a Charlie Brown Christmas tree. As much as I’d love to have the Martha Stewart decorated house every holiday season, that can be expensive and takes a lot of effort to do even if you are thrifty. I just don’t have the energy these days. I hope you have a wonderful holiday season!

  6. December 5, 2007 7:27 am

    Little Miss,

    I live alone, and I never find it worth it to decorate for myself. Thank you so much for sharing your tree. Perhaps I’ll print the picture out and put it by my desk.

    Ho Ho Ho.

    Beth

  7. December 9, 2007 11:19 pm

    It’s beautiful!

  8. December 14, 2007 7:26 am

    Oh how lovely. And who can resist the smell of pine?

    Ours is Christmas not for real Tree:-)

    Cheers!

Comments are closed.

