Skip to content

Lots of Knitting Ahead

December 14, 2007

Maybe even some sewing. Today was an emotional – and confusing – day. Essentially, I got laid off but they’re keeping me on as an hourly employee and if there’s work, then I get paid. Otherwise, I collect unemployment, or work somewhere else. And I didn’t even get to finish up a client’s project I was working on today. I was robbed of the gratification of hearing first-hand the client’s praises (or condemnation, if he didn’t like it, but he did) of my work. I do know though, that they liked it enough to want to have more work done after the first of the year. By the time I got back to my desk from the meeting with the bosses and HR, my computer was gone, my email shut down and I was asked to “quietly” leave – they’d burn my personal pictures to a CD and mail it to me along with all my books and personal stuff. Sheesh. Merry Christmas.

What this means is that I’ll have some time off around the holidays. That’s good on the one hand that I need the rest, and I can enjoy my little grandkids and my daughters, and maybe actually knit up the gifts I wanted to make. On the other hand, there’s added stress making sure there’s enough money to last me to the next paying gig because I didn’t get any severance. (I did, however, get benefits continued through the end of January.)

The other thing this does is present some opportunities for me. For a start, the next bit of work they might want me to do is fine with me – but I’ll be working 100% from home. I’m calling the shots now. And in addition, I’m going to get a business license and start my own editing business – and give myself a raise. Why should a company who really only cares about their own profits make three times my salary on what I do?

Anyway, like Bev said, I guess I should knit up a bunch more of those cute hats. I think I’ll take her advice.

15 Comments
  1. December 15, 2007 3:30 am

    Oh Claire! How rotten to spring this on you, esp. now. Enjoy the time off for the holidays and try not to stress too much. Everything happens for a reason, and you’ll soon find out that this was actually a good thing.

  2. December 15, 2007 4:22 am

    sewing, knitting, and those cute grandchildren sound like the perfect medicine right now. šŸ™‚

  3. December 15, 2007 6:52 am

    Debbie – you are right, this will be a good thing. Now I’ll get the holidays “off” and can make more cookies, and PLAY. Medicine, just like Mermaid said. šŸ™‚ Oh, and sleep. I’ll sleep in here somewhere too. Hee hee.

  4. Bev permalink
    December 15, 2007 7:23 am

    Oh, I’m sorry about this! I don’t understand why companies have to lay people off during the holidays…..ho, ho, and more ho! Not!

    I’m hoping you will come out smelling like a rose (hee) on this one, so enjoy your time off and then concentrate on your own business-to-be. I am sure you will be successful!

  5. December 15, 2007 7:23 am

    Holy Crap. Merry Christmas indeed. Only recently discovered your blog through moonbeammqueen’s. It’s nice here- love the photos. Congrats on the recent grandson. Looking forward to grandchildren too, hopefully in the next couple of years, my daughter’s getting married this summer.

    Having just come through a long period of work-related stresses myself, I sympathize and applaud your equanimity. What worked best for me in day-to-day survival mode was the “worse things happen at sea” method. Thankful that I don’t have to worry about carbombs or drive-by shooters in my quiet little life, I was able to tolerate a pretty heavy bullshit load, and to count my blessings.

  6. December 15, 2007 4:01 pm

    Bev – I think it’s to make a profit for the end of the year. And I don’t quite understand that with this company because they are privately owned and don’t have to report to stockholders or a board of directors.

    David – Thank you for visiting me, and for posting what Grok means. Congratulations on your daughter’s upcoming wedding. Grandkids are fun – they truly are. I loved having my kids, but these are even better. Except I wish I could be around them all the time.

  7. December 15, 2007 6:51 pm

    So sorry to hear the company did that–that’s just plain mean, if you ask me.

    Perhaps you’ll land a job that you’ll enjoy and be appreciated so much more…and leave THEM high and dry…LOl

    I’m jealous you get to sleep in! Happy Holidays!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  8. December 15, 2007 8:12 pm

    Claire – so sorry to hear about the added stress of creepy employers. Of course, I’m off until after Christmas – going back to work on the 31st, I think. It’s still pretty uncomfortable for me to drive, but I’d be happy to have you come over and knit with me šŸ™‚ g

  9. December 18, 2007 9:23 am

    Claire,

    Welcome to the happy world of working for yourself! I’m excited to see you hang a shingle as a freelance editor. My mother told me my blog had a typo on it somewhere… she doesn’t remember where, but she was embarrassed for me. Find it and you’ll earn your first check from me!

    Sorry this news was so rudely delivered, but it’s probably going to work out much better for you in the long run.

    Beth

  10. December 18, 2007 8:56 pm

    Thanks, friends. I’ve been enjoying time with my daughter and simultaneously thinking of a name for my new venture. Any ideas?

  11. December 19, 2007 5:13 pm

    Wow, I’m sorry to hear this. Merry Christmas. But I agree that this could a great opportunity. I was fired from the same newspaper three times. One time it was the week before Christmas. Of course I deserved it each time, but they did keep taking me back every time my unemployment finally ran out. Which was bad, for everyone involved. This went on for 12 years. The last time they fired me I didn’t ask to come back when my unemployment ran out (because I knew they’d hire me again) and it was the best decision I ever made. Shoulda done it sooner. This layoff could be a good thing.

  12. December 19, 2007 5:13 pm

    I’ve had a really weird life and it looks even weirder when I see it in print.

  13. December 20, 2007 9:55 am

    Lisa: It was mean, and many people that still work there are talking about some sort of protest. It’s bad management too to let it get to the point where the owners had to do something rash, and right before the holidays.

    G: Haven’t been knitting as much as I hoped cuz of helping out the daughter. But now I’m home, I have a fibro flareup. I don’t think much driving is in the near future.

    Beth: I’m eager to be the master of my own destiny. Worried about the finances and marketing myself, but you’ve already set a good example for me.

    LWB: Thanks for the support. I need it right now. I can’t imagine going back to a company three times. Wow.

  14. December 22, 2007 4:25 pm

    Claire – sorry I’m just getting around to reading your blog and learning of your situation. I totally understand what you are going through right now…as a single mother with a boatload of responsibilities I can relate to your stress! However, I truly believe that a better opportunity awaits you…when one door closes another opens! I will be waiting to hear how your new venture works out and I’m wishing you much success in it!

  15. December 22, 2007 4:36 pm

    Thank you, Carolyn. That’s very sweet of you to say. I think everything will be okay. It’s just stressful in the middle.

Comments are closed.

