Skip to content

Holidays and Musicals

December 21, 2007

I think they seem to go together. Tonight, my mother, her roommate, and I are going to see Jersey Boys at Seattle’s Fifth Avenue Theatre.

jb-home-banner-nowplaying.jpg

Before the show, we’re going to dinner somewhere nice downtown. I’m ready for a night out, even if it is with my mother. (I mean that nicely, as an alternative to having a date with some tall, handsome man.) The last couple days I’ve been pretty down because of the job, but also the holidays seem to bring me down too. This night out should help lift my spirits.

My favorite musical of all time, however, is the Sound of Music. My mother tells me I saw it seven times when it was first released. Finally a couple years ago, I got it for Christmas on DVD. I loved everything about that movie and dreamed of growing up and having tons of children, a huge house, and a handsome husband. Hmm. Well, dreams sometimes are just dreams.

I’ll let you know what I think of Jersey Boys. I love Frankie Valli’s music so it should be very entertaining.

5 Comments
  1. December 22, 2007 8:29 am

    Sound of Music! When I was a kid we used to go to Stowe, Vermont for February school vacation every year and stay at the Von Trapp lodge. The dining room was cozy and beautiful, elegant but homey, you know? And Maria Von Trapp used to spend the whole evening walking around and saying hello to everyone. She was elderly by then, but she was still really drawn to children and one time she actually sat at our table to talk with me. She had a waiter bring me a slice of the most wonderful Black Forest cake. After that, I ordered it for dessert the whole time I was there. I actualy ruined Black Forest cake for me, because none has ever lived up to the ones they served at the Von Trapp lodge.

    I remember all the little Von Trapp grandchildren used to play in the snow all day without mittens! They were the toughest little kids …

  2. December 22, 2007 8:33 am

    Oh and by the way, I envy you being able to spend an evening out with your mom. Plus, Jersey Boys looks awesome. Let us know how it was.

  3. December 22, 2007 9:02 am

    Oh that’s awesome! You met Maria!! Wow. How fabulous. What a great memory. Someday I’ll have to go to Vermont and visit that lodge. I’m going to post about the Jersey Boys. It was unbelievably good.

  4. December 22, 2007 9:51 am

    Sounds great! And I think one of the best things to do with a mom is to see plays!

  5. December 22, 2007 12:59 pm

    Oh man… I love the Sound of Music as well. And Cabaret. And Fiddler on the Roof. I think I have to run to the video store.

    Happy holidays!

Comments are closed.

