Skip to content

Who Loves You

December 22, 2007

Last night, my mom, her roommate Carolyn, and I went to see Jersey Boys at Seattle’s Fifth Avenue theatre. Saying I had a good time would be an understatement. The evening started off with dinner at a local hotel, where the food was good and of course, the company was wonderful. I really needed a good night out on the town because I’ve been depressed about this job change thing. Change is never easy for me, but I usually fare well and am successful. Still, I had tears that I just couldn’t shake. Last night really helped me.

After dinner we walked the couple blocks to the theatre and only had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated. This is a beautiful theatre, ornate, comfortable, and we had great seats. As soon as the show started, I grabbed my mom’s hand and smiled. I was so excited. No wonder this show has earned awards. I had no idea about the show, other than it was about Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons. I didn’t even know much about the Four Seasons other than I grew up with some of their later music through the late 60s and 70s. Who Loves You was a song I played over and over as a teenager. Angst relieved by Valli. Um. 🙂

The way this play was written was fabulous: a story told by each of the four founding members’ point of view. And there were plenty of musical excerpts performed as if they were on stage, or on the Ed Sullivan Show, or under a street lamp in Jersey. The music kept me bopping in my seat and tapping my foot all evening. I couldn’t believe there weren’t more people bopping around or even standing in the aisles dancing – but Seattle is a very reserved town, in my opinion.

We were on a pink cloud the whole way home. Carolyn’s (Mom’s roommate) memories were different than mine since she’s about 15 years older than me. It was interesting to compare our memories. She was graduating from high school when I was graduating from diapers.

When this song played, I literally cried.

Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You

I still have this next one as an original 45 in my collection in the garage.

Who Loves You

Happy Memories. Thank you, Mom, for a great evening.

7 Comments
  1. December 23, 2007 10:50 am

    Losing job is a scary thing. BUT! With your experience you’re definitely going to get another one so take a deep breath and relax. It really will work out. Just enjoy the holidays with your family. I still remember a few years ago when I walked off of a job (something I thought I would never do, but it was the job from hell), and I was scared to death. I’m a high school graduate and the jobs around here for that level of education don’t pay much above minimum wage. I had 3 kids to support, house payments, etc… I did get a job 2 weeks later and with part time waitressing thrown in I was fine, and still am. Actually the job I’m at now is the lowest paying job I’ve ever held but it’s a great place to work. You’ll be fine!!!

  2. December 24, 2007 10:10 am

    What a sweet post. I’m so glad you had such a great time.

    I agree with laura. I always talk to my boyfriend about what a strong person you are, and how inspiring you are. Although you’re going through some hardships right now, it’s going to be one of those things that you’ll soon be posting on, telling us how it was one of the best things that ever happened to you (and I know you already know this).

    You’re always so good at sharing words of wisdom. I wish I had some better ones for you.

    It’s been such a joy getting to know you through our blogs, and I hope that you and your family have a truly happy Christmas.

  3. December 24, 2007 9:21 pm

    MB: Your comment made me cry. In a good way. One of my blessings this year was “meeting” you. You were the first person who I found who truly understood fibro, and I feel a kinship with you. I’m amazed that I inspire people, but thank you very much. Hope your holiday is great, and fibro-flare-free. 🙂

  4. December 24, 2007 9:25 pm

    Now who’s making who cry? But in a good way… 😉

  5. December 25, 2007 10:08 pm

    Okay, if you chicks could stop crying for a moment (because you make ME weepy and I have no idea why, it just works that way), I’d like to say that Franki Vallie doesn’t get enough credit for being fabulous. He is so multi-talented, did you watch Sopranos? It was horrifying what happened to him (on the show)! I’ll never get to see Jersey Boys but you’ve made me want to. If they make it into a movie, I’ll definitely watch. I’m very close to watching Dream Girls.

  6. December 25, 2007 10:11 pm

    I just wrote a fairly long comment here and I have no idea where … do you see it? Where the hell … Where did it go? Ugh, I can’t write all that “Franki Valli is so talented and was great on Sopranos” stuff again. It’s lost forever in Cyberspace I guess. Suffice it say, cool post and thank you.

  7. December 26, 2007 8:29 am

    LWB: It showed up, both posts. I love Frankie Valli. I never really watched Sopranos. I don’t know why. Maybe it was the violence. I’m not sure. I really wanted to see Dream Girls too. Maybe I should rent the DVD. 🙂 On the way home from the show, we were commenting on the differences between them and the Beatles. I never got into the Beatles, I think, because I was about 8 years too late for them. Loved some of their stuff, and especially Paul’s later music, however.

Comments are closed.

