Skip to content

I Joined Ravelry.com

December 26, 2007

To see what all the fuss is about. (www.ravelry.com) My user name is LittleMiss. No surprise, there. I’m interested in seeing if it’s as good as the hype. It seems as if it’s based off a Wiki for the knowledge base. I’m eager to read about patterns, yarns, and what other knitters are doing. There’s a really cool feature called a discussion radar that shows recent posts and it updates automatically. How cool is that?

I have to say though that their model of letting users set up forums and create pages disturbs my sensibilities as a professional editor. 😉 I went to the BBB page and had to click away because of too many misspellings and typos. It was painful for me, but then I text message long hand most of the time too. I know, I’m weird.

Overall, I bet this will be a place I’ll frequent often. It reminds me of Stitcher’s Guild / Artisan Square, but focused on knitting, and I think it uses newer or different technology that makes it spiffier and more intriguing than just a message board.

If you’re a member of Ravelry (you have to get your name on a waiting list, but I only had to wait a couple weeks), let me know in the comments what you think of it. Why did you join? What do you hope to gain from it. I’m not affiliated with Ravelry in any way, I’m just a curious crafter.

5 Comments
  1. December 26, 2007 7:46 pm

    Well as you know, I’m a member of Ravelry. My user name is GMarie. Mostly I use it to look up patterns that I have an idea for but am not sure how to make. I used it to look for variations on the Men’s Dashing pattern – didn’t find any I liked, but still it was helpful to see what people were doing.
    g

  2. December 26, 2007 8:01 pm

    I just put my name on the waiting list. I’m joining because you joined, and I’m a follower. But also, I like good knitting sites because I’m interested in what everyone’s making and then I feel inspired to go make something myself. I really like Knitty, although I’ve only used two or three patterns from there. When it first came online I wanted to write for them, but I never have. I’ve got plenty of patterns that I’ve made up but making them coherent enough for someone else is too time consuming and I’ve got enough on my plate. I hadn’t even heard of Ravelry, so thanks for posting this.

  3. December 27, 2007 12:04 am

    Cool, Ladies.
    Gaylen, I had already added you as a friend. 🙂
    LWB – Let me know when you get invited in and I’ll add you as well. I think it will be cool. Knitty is good too. That’s where I got the lace pattern for the hat I made my granddaughter recently.

  4. December 27, 2007 1:35 pm

    I haven’t heard of this site before. It looks great! I also love knitty.com.

  5. January 7, 2008 10:10 pm

    I’m in! Wow, that wasn’t a long wait at all. I’ll try and add you, but if I’m unable to do it you can add me: Wendy313. They okayed me two days ago but, as I’ve said, I’m so unorganized I didn’t realize it. Tonight I uploaded my knitted pig photo; tomorrow I’ll start photographing Stella’s dog sweaters and my special smoking gloves. The site looks like fun, I can’t wait to start reading/seeing everybody’s stuff over there. Thanks for posting about it. 🙂

Comments are closed.

