Skip to content

It was a semi-white Christmas

December 26, 2007

Just as we headed out towards my mother’s house around noon yesterday, it started to snow. One thing I love about snow in Seattle is it usually doesn’t stay around too long. It was a wet snow, with really no accumulation, but it was still snow, and it was pretty.

This was the view from my mother’s balcony just as it started to snow at her house.

img_3422.jpg

And the view of downtown Kirkland. Notice someone put a Santa hat on the top of the lamppost. I didn’t notice that until after I snapped the photo.

img_3426.jpg

I’m happy I made it through the day unscathed. It was very pleasant. I enjoyed the time with my family, and showing off my daughters, son-in-law, and grandkids to old friends who stopped by my mom’s house. The food was fabulous. Carolyn is a terrific cook and there was more than enough for everyone. There were also more than enough presents for everyone, and Mom gave me money to go hit the sales today, so I’m doing that shortly. I am so not the get there by 6 AM kinda girl anymore, so if I make it before the doorbusters end at one, I’ll be lucky.

Here’s my mom with the three grandkids. Evan (baby Santa) is snoozing away. He slept the entire visit. Cayden had his hair spiked up just like his dad’s and was adorable, as usual. Elise got this new cat (which she is holding) that’s kinda freaky. It blinks at you, purrs and meows. She loves it, though, and we had to dig out a spare kitty collar for her to have. Pink, of course.

img_3434.jpg

Everyone enjoyed holding baby Santa aka Evan. He’s just so squishy and snuggly and warm, who wouldn’t?

Mama and baby:

img_3462.jpg

Sister and baby:

img_3460.jpg

Cayden playing on Grandma’s exercise machine. He figured out immediately how to use this, with no explanation from an adult.

img_3456.jpg

And pictures of the family with Carolyn (who is also family, now, but the one of all of us didn’t turn out.)

img_3450.jpg

And one with me in the middle.

img_3447.jpg

Now, I’m off to go shopping! Happy Boxing Day, as the British say.

5 Comments
  1. December 26, 2007 12:39 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful Christmas with your beautiful family!

    I skipped the After Xmas Sales…I’m exhausted…LOL!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  2. December 26, 2007 8:04 pm

    LOVE these photos! Your mom has an awesome view. Her place looks so cozy and elegant. Excellent post.

  3. December 27, 2007 7:58 am

    What a happy gathering. Your family photos are wonderful, and the snow pictures are heavenly! Evan is so patient about being passed around, and Cayden has pants on!

    So glad you had such a great Christmas!

  4. December 27, 2007 9:42 am

    MB: Cayden actually got a darling blue bathrobe for Christmas from my mother. She didn’t know about his penchant for going around in his diaper. My daughter told me yesterday he LOVES wearing his bathrobe and looks so cute in it. She needs to post a picture for us.

  5. December 27, 2007 10:25 am

    LWB: My mom lives in a cool condo over the water (lakefront). She and my dad bought it about 20 years ago, and after dad passed on, she bought the one next to it and combined them. It’s not that large, but it’s great for what she needs. The view is pretty awesome, though.

Comments are closed.

