Skip to content

Retail Therapy

December 29, 2007

Or Instant Gratification for Those Who Would Rather Sew Their Own Clothes But Cannot

The day after Christmas I decided to brave the masses and see what the sales offered me as far as clothing. I had received a modest sum of money from my mother to purchase clothes, and although I could have used the money to supplement my unemployment income, I really needed a quick dose of life injected into my bland wardrobe. If I’m going to be meeting new potential clients or employers, I needed something fresh for the new year. And because I’ve not been able to really sew any garments for months now, retail purchases it would have to be.

So, the night before I pondered what I needed. I had several nice pairs of recently purchased trousers and hoped to find some more. Most of my tops were in the rust, orange, brown color scheme and I needed pops of blue, pink, cream, or red. I also desperately needed new jeans, and a jacket of some sort. I scanned the pre-sales online flyers for the main big stores near me to see what they offered, and I developed a plan.

I was not going to kill myself getting to the stores at 6 AM and figured I’d just take my chances and try to get there before noon. I arrived at the mall at 11, went straight to Penneys and couldn’t find the doorbuster they advertised (no surprise there) – a nice leather jacket for $49. Their checkout lines were at least 20 deep and since I don’t fit their clothes that well anyway, I quickly moved on. I went to Lane Bryant looking for jeans.

What is it about Lane Bryant that makes me so insanely defensive and angry when I walk in there? Is it the energy of the store? Is it that I resent having to shop there at all? Who knows. But this happens with me every single time.  This time it was because they changed the sizing on their jeans. Now, instead of what I’m used to, they have them sized like Chico does: Size 0, 1, 2, 3 and so on. Good grief. Talk about vanity sizing. Do they really thing that women are stupid enough to be fooled by this? I know Chico’s does the same thing, but they actually make clothes for smaller women, so it’s not so irritating. They also have them grouped by red, blue, or yellow, according to your shape. In their attempt to make it more simple, they make it more complicated. At least for this complicated brain that doesn’t have much room for absorbing much more right now.

Anyway, the sales girl was patient, despite my obvious frustration and irritation and I found a pair of jeans that actually fit really well. I bought two pair in two lengths. Since they always shrink length-wise, I bought a longer pair which I’ll hem if still too long for heels after washing.

By this time, I’m starting to get a bit tired and decided to skip the rest of the mall entirely and head over to Kohls, as last time I shopped there, I was very successful. My youngest daughter met me there and she must have been my lucky charm.  I found about four tops – one a pink/brown silky that just needs one of the three darts on each side let out, a pink soft sweater with a hood plus a cream sleeveless vest, like this (not exact):

kohls_270753_new_white.jpg

My favorite acquisition, however is this lovely coat:

kohls_coat.jpg

(To see it in close up, go to Kohl’s site here.)

This coat fits me like a glove. Now, I need to find an excuse to dress up in it and go out somwhere. Hmm. New Year’s Eve is coming. Will I be brave enough to go somewhere alone?

3 Comments
  1. December 29, 2007 10:29 pm

    Ooooohhhhh! You were brave to go out, but your bravery paid off— beautiful!!!! I love that coat!

  2. December 30, 2007 8:28 am

    Your coat is beautiful and was a good score! I spent about 6 hours at the mall yesterday with my youngest DD and my mom…I remember why I hate the mall so much! A lot of junk that doesn’t fit and I was so ready to scream at the plus size selections offered! I may be a suburban girl but I am definitely a NYC woman at heart because I just don’t think a dept that is almost entirely comprised of sweats does anything to make a plus size woman look good. I am so spoiled working in NYC ’cause the offerings are 10x better than what I saw in NJ! Okay, rant over…but yesterday I realized why I sew and stay away from the malls! So I’m glad that you were able to accomplish so much!

  3. December 30, 2007 10:39 am

    MB: I totally heart that coat. I can’t wait to wear it. I’m considering even dressing up and finding a church to go to today. Wait, no.. maybe not. LOL But then…

    Carolyn: I’m with you on the sweats thing. They should be left to at home lounge wear. And the plus size offererings? Many women really believe the stuff they sell looks good on them. ARGH. I think that’s what makes me the maddest – that the retailers have conned the women.

Comments are closed.

