Skip to content

A Year Older, Any Wiser?

December 30, 2007

I missed the exact date, but I started this blog one year ago, on December 28, 2006, after a particularly dismal holiday where my adult daughter was quite ill.

Much has changed since then:

  • I left a dead-end job in May
  • I packed away my sewing room to install new hardwood floors throughout my house
  • I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia in July
  • I welcomed a new baby grandson into the family
  • I worked hard at a new job that laid me off twenty days ago
  • I made the decision to try building my own writing and editing business
  • I made new friends and acquaintances through this blog and my other blog

I’m so not into New Year’s Eve celebrations and the whole big celebration and setting resolutions things. This might be because I tend to evaluate my goals all year long and set new ones whenever I complete one, or when the original one is no longer valid.

Maybe resolutions are really more like looking inward at oneself and seeing what needs to change. Maybe people use NY Eve as a milestone to stop and take stock of their lives – sort of like a year-end inventory blow-out sale. Maybe people are so insanely busy that NY Eve is the only time they really have to stop and re-evaluate their life. Maybe my harsh attitude about it last year was because I was resentful and disappointed at a holiday that left me alone, lonely, and feeling as if I had no support whatsoever.

Things are different this year, at least as far as my attitude is concerned. There are some things that have been swirling around in my little head about what I want to accomplish.

  • I’d like to try dating
  • I want to finish the home remodel and get my sewing room set back up
  • I hope to give the self-employment a serious chance to see if I can really do it
  • I’d like to focus on healthy eating and exercise without obsessing over it
  • I’d like to relandscape my yard this summer
  • I’d like to take some short trips and explore new places, even if it’s alone

So, call these resolutions, call them goals. It’s just what’s on my mind today.

Finally, thank you to all my readers who keep reading and posting such sweet, encouraging comments. I appreciate you all.

Happy New Year.

9 Comments
  1. December 30, 2007 1:40 pm

    Bonne année, Claire!

  2. December 30, 2007 2:40 pm

    i also tend to re-evaluate the goals all year long. for you, i do hope the “getting the sewing room set back up” one happens soon. i find sewing to be very relaxing. reducing stress is suppose to be good for fibro, right?

    for now, enjoy those grandbabies. they are adorable and the best medicine in the world.

    i suppose i should give some thought to resolutions or goals or something…..more sewing, more chocolate, more reading?

    teri

  3. Bev permalink
    December 30, 2007 8:48 pm

    Claire, I think you are very smart to say ” I’d like to” and “I want to” instead of “I’m going to” or “I’ve got to….”. I think that makes a big difference in how we approach changes in our lives.

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog/s this year and hope that you have a wonderful 2008, full of lovely surprises and new adventures!

  4. December 31, 2007 12:43 pm

    The dating thing…you gotta try it! It is so much fun…well at least it is for me! I find that a lot of the things that I worried about when I was younger no longer concern me and I no longer have a “like me ~ like me” attitude. Dating is about going out and having fun…not a life commitment! So I hope that you do give it a try this year!

  5. December 31, 2007 9:14 pm

    I’m cheering you on with all of these goals. I think you have a great attitude about them.
    As far as the dating, this might sound too “new agey” and Practical Magic-ey a story to be telling on someone’s blog, but what the hell? I’ll tell it anyway. A few years ago I had a friend who was 54 and had been single for several years. She told me she was sick of the single life and was conjuring up a man in her head. Because I’m from a family of new agey-types anyway, I knew immediately what she was doing. She was spending about ten minutes a day meditating on her new (and as yet nonexistent) man, what she wanted him to be like, specifics about having a sense of humor, etc. And of course within about three months she met a man, the first one she’d dated in years, and they got married within that same year. I went to the wedding, it was on a beach. And they’re still married.
    Now, I’m not saying you should do this same thing, but visualization and meditation has been proven to work in other areas, so why not this one? It worked for my friend. She’s pleased with the result.
    Hope I don’t come off too kooky on this. I mean well. 🙂

  6. December 31, 2007 9:49 pm

    Wendy: I totally don’t think you are kooky. I love that story. It reminds me of a “Soul Companion Exercise” told to me by an astrologer friend many years ago. I just never practiced it regularly or updated my lists. Must do so again. I can’t live my life around my kids and friends with kids. I need to develop more than just crafting friends (read: women) too, although I relish those friendships as well. I shall try the daily meditation. I’ll let you know what manifests.

  7. January 1, 2008 7:20 am

    Yay for positive visualization! Nothing kooky about that at all. Here’s hoping that 2008 is a good one.

  8. January 2, 2008 8:48 am

    Claire,

    You go girl! Sounds like your head is in the right place. You’re looking forward and still smiling. I’m looking forward to following your progress in 2008.

    Beth

  9. icarecafe permalink
    September 15, 2008 5:00 am

    the icarecafe would really like your help with a discussion on Fibromyalgia

    As you many know the icarecafe has been set up to provide a space for patients, carers and their supporters online.

    Some of the members have set up a discussion group on the subject of Fibromyagia. The group has asked lots of questions which are still in the process of being answered. So we thought it appropriate if we invited people from other Fibromyalgia discussion group and blogs to ask if they wished to participate.

    To have a look at the discussions so far please have a look at

    http://www.icarecafe.com/?page_id=1107&group_id=36

    Please do feel free to join in the discussions and to post any information which might be of interest to our members.

    If you have any questions please feel free to get in touch. I’m one of the moderators of the icarecafe and I can be contacted by sending and internal email to my profile.

    Thanks very much in advance for your help!

    Best wishes

    Belinda Shale
    Moderator – the icarecafe

    http://www.icarecafe.com

Comments are closed.

