Skip to content

Fridge Meme, or TMI

January 3, 2008

Wendy, at Life with Buck, started this meme. I kinda feel like Moonbeam McQueen does, in that sharing what’s in my fridge is a little too much information. However, I’m not offended by being asked to participate, nor am I scared what you might think. Ok, well, a little. My fridge is a major source of embarassment to me, as are my cupboards. It’s not that I don’t have food; it’s that the food in there is total crap. I blame my daughter. I blame my laziness. I blame myself.

So, without further ado, here’s my refrigerator as it was this morning.

img_3546.jpg

There are some healthy foods in there but mostly not. Frankly, I have an ongoing love-hate relationship with food. I think it is lifelong and I’ll probably never resolve it. Unlike a sewing store, where when I see all the raw ingredients and I can picture how it all goes together, I never have been able to do that with food raw ingredients. Instead, I prefer frozen dinners because the work’s been done for me and there’s built-in portion control.

Here’s the crap in the door.

img_3547.jpg

Now, we’re off to go grocery shopping. Seriously. I’m clearing out the cupboards and donating some of the crap to the foodbank.

My determination today is to banish almost all the high-carb total junk food crap from this house. If my daughter wants any, she has to keep it in her car.

6 Comments
  1. January 3, 2008 5:15 pm

    AWESOME FRIDGE! Who knew this could be so much fun? Wendy did, that’s who. Thanks for letting us sneak a peek!

  2. January 4, 2008 2:24 pm

    What a fun/strange meme this was, huh!? IS that an emergency Starbucks liquid treat in the door? Mmmmmmmm.

  3. January 4, 2008 7:39 pm

    MB: You think my fridge is awesome? Awesome! I was so ashamed of it, I went shopping, came home, cleaned it out, and then restocked it with decent stuff.

    CuriousC: Why, yes, that is an emergency Starbucks liquid treat. Mocha, I think. Yummmm.

  4. January 5, 2008 2:07 pm

    Hi Little Miss!

    I’m a friend of Wendy’s (Life With Buck). Our son’s grew up together and she worked with my sister for many years and they are best friends. I thought I’d come over and introduce myself.

    I read your last comment on MBMQ’s blog about your father. My father past away 8 years ago on January 16th. We owned a small health food store and worked together every day until the day he died. I held his hand too when he passed. But when I think of him now, I think of him laughing surrounded by light and happiness. He had a wicked sense of humor.

    I also want to read that book “Embraced by the Light” you mentioned. It sounds like something I would enjoy.

    Come visit me anytime at my blog. I’ve only been blogging a short time but have already met so many wonderful people all through Wendy. You can check out what’s in my fridge too.

  5. January 5, 2008 9:15 pm

    Joanharvest: Howdy! I’ve already been lurking on your blog and enjoy it quite a bit. I emailed you offline – look for it. 🙂 Isn’t Wendy great? Well, you already know that. 😉

  6. January 7, 2008 10:05 pm

    I can’t believe I missed this! I’m so unorganized … sorry I’m late. Too bad you can’t pelt me with those cherry tomatoes. I deserve it. This fridge looks great, and delicious, and it’s just so weird the way we all have so many of the same foods. Okay, maybe it’s not so weird, I guess everybody in the US pretty much buys the same stuff at the supermarket. But I never realized it till I asked everyone to photograph their refrigerator. Thank you so much for doing this, and I when I learn how to design widgets for this (if that ever-ever happens), yours will have a beautiful shining star with hearts popping all around it. Thank you!

    I’m having to get rid of all my food to go low-carb, too. I’m usually cool with it, but I hate giving up fruit and juice. And french fries and cake and pasta and …

Comments are closed.

